Does a quarterstaff +1 used as an implement for an arcane caster get to add its +1 to attack and damage rolls?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Any time an unfathomably powerful entity sweeps in and offers godlike rewards in return for just a few teensy favors, it’s a scam. Unless it’s me. I’d never lie to you, reader dearest.
magic items mention which rolls, if any, a bonus is added to.
For example, a quarterstaff +1 would add to the attack and damage rolls using the staff - not to any spell attacks or spell damage, and conversely a staff of power gives a +2 bonus to attack and damage rolls using the staff, as well as a +2 bonus to spell attacks (but not damage).
It is also worth noting that a quarterstaff, magical or not, is not an Arcane Focus according to the written rules. Nor can the staff (which is a focus) be used as a quarterstaff. Even the various Magic Items that are called a wand or staff (like the Staff of Frost for example) are not strictly usable as a focus - though as a DM I do allow players to use them as one. The Staff of Power is one of the few such staffs which specifies in its description that it can be wielded as a quarterstaff (it isn't a quarterstaff, but it can be used as one to attack).
But on topic, yeah a magic weapon only adds to weapon attack and weapon damage rolls, unless their description states otherwise.
Any time an unfathomably powerful entity sweeps in and offers godlike rewards in return for just a few teensy favors, it’s a scam. Unless it’s me. I’d never lie to you, reader dearest.
The Staff of Power is one of the few such staffs which specifies in its description that it can be wielded as a quarterstaff (it isn't a quarterstaff, but it can be used as one to attack).
Any magical staff can be used as a quarterstaff if its description doesn't say otherwise, as stated in the DMG's magic item rules.
Ah ok. I guess I hadn't read that section, only the description of every staff, the quarterstaff and the focus. Still, it doesn't really make sense: that section says staffs can be used a quarterstaff "unless its description says otherwise", but there are literally no staffs that say they can't. Conversely, there are a dozen staffs which mention that they *can* be used as a quarterstaff. Interestingly, all staffs which can turn into normal or magic quarterstaffs when their charges expire specify that they can be used as a quarterstaff, while the staffs that melt or disintegrate on expiration do not specify a quarterstaff use. All this suggests to me that things were initially designed with Staff and Quarterstaff as separate concepts, but then later the catch-all sentence was added to the DMG section on staffs. Personally, I dislike this feature as it breaks the otherwise reasonably standard rule that an Arcane focus is equal to a component pouch in almost every way - I think I will home rule a solution that satisfies me.
None of this, however, means that either a magic staff nor a quarterstaff can be used as an Arcane focus without a home rule.
Interestingly, all staffs which can turn into normal or magic quarterstaffs when their charges expire specify that they can be used as a quarterstaff, while the staffs that melt or disintegrate on expiration do not specify a quarterstaff use.
Actually, the Spider Staff from the Starter Set says it can be used as a quarterstaff but it gets destroyed if you roll a 1 after it runs out of charges. But it also deals additional damage when used as a quarterstaff, like every other staff in the DMG other than the Staff of Charming.
All this suggests to me that things were initially designed with Staff and Quarterstaff as separate concepts, but then later the catch-all sentence was added to the DMG section on staffs.
Probably. The Starter Set came out in July 2014 while the DMG came out in December.
Personally, I dislike this feature as it breaks the otherwise reasonably standard rule that an Arcane focus is equal to a component pouch in almost every way - I think I will home rule a solution that satisfies me.
Not sure why that's important; the focus situation for different classes have always had significant differences. A component pouch works for any spellcaster and thus are much more useful for multiclass spellcasters. A divine focus can be put on a shield, whereas other spellcasters need to use a separate hand to handle a material component. With Xanathar's Guide to Everything, College of Blades Bards and Pact of the Blade Warlocks can use weapons as a spellcasting focus.
None of this, however, means that either a magic staff nor a quarterstaff can be used as an Arcane focus without a home rule.
However, the rules allow for the converse; the improvised weapon rules allow a DM to say an arcane/druidic focus staff is similar enough to a quarterstaff to treat it as such without any house rules. This seems to be RAI.
Personally I think it's really dumb from a worldbuilding perspective to assume a magical rod, wand, or staff isn't a focus. Magic items are extraordinary; why someone would go through all the trouble of creating a staff that can cast spells but also not take whatever mundane measures let one double as a focus is beyond me.
Conversely, there are a dozen staffs which mention that they *can* be used as a quarterstaff.
But are any of those just saying "can be used as a quarterstaff", rather than also saying what bonus is added to attack and damage rolls?
The Staff of Charming just says it can used as a magical quarterstaff, no other bonuses. I guess the other magic staffs can be used only as a non-magical quarterstaff? My issue at this point is that this all seems a little half-baked. I intend to house-rule my way through, but this discussion helps.
Not sure why that's important; the focus situation for different classes have always had significant differences. A component pouch works for any spellcaster and thus are much more useful for multiclass spellcastersimportant; the focus situation for different classes have always had significant differences. A component pouch works for any spellcaster and thus are much more useful for multiclass spellcasters. A divine focus can be put on a shield, whereas other spellcasters need to use a separate hand to handle a material component. With Xanathar's Guide to Everything, College of Blades Bards and Pact of the Blade Warlocks can use weapons as a spellcasting focus..
I wouldn't say it is "important", but every time I look at this area of the rules things seem to get more convoluted rather than less and I don't like it. As you say, there are classes which specially allow you to use weapons as a focus and that seems cool - but now actually everyone already has that ability as long as the weapon they choose is a quarterstaff (often the strongest weapon their class has available anyway). Personally, I like the fact that PCs are forced to choose: both hands full of weapons and stuff vs your full spellcasting range, mace and holy shield vs ability to cast Cure Wounds. The 5gp Staff/Quarterstaff just seems an annoying way around that choice...
...Personally I think it's really dumb from a worldbuilding perspective to assume a magical rod, wand, or staff isn't a focus. Magic items are extraordinary; why someone would go through all the trouble of creating a staff that can cast spells but also not take whatever mundane measures let one double as a focus is beyond me.
Yes I agree here. I consider any magic staff, wand, rod, orb, crystal ball, or whatever to be a valid focus in my games. But all of those objects don't break the fundamental choice that I enjoy from above (with the exception of those staffs which are specifically designed to also be used as a physical weapon, but they are rare and special so ok). I'm resigned to the fact that rules we have don't align perfectly with my own opinions, but I also think they barely align with themselves and in this particular area (focuses, etc) are so convoluted that I doubt anyone at all is obeying them all to the letter.
Personally, I like the fact that PCs are forced to choose: both hands full of weapons and stuff vs your full spellcasting range, mace and holy shield vs ability to cast Cure Wounds. The 5gp Staff/Quarterstaff just seems an annoying way around that choice...
Wizards, sorcerers and non-Hexblade warlocks can't use shields and quarterstaves can't be used for two-weapon fighting so they're very likely to have a free hand anyways, and those classes really don't want to be in melee range either. Hexblades already have a way out with Pact of the Blade and the non-blade ones are going to need a free hand to spam Eldritch Blast because it doesn't have M components. Eldritch Knights and Arcane Tricksters can't use an arcane focus. Most melee range spellcasters will pick up the War Caster feat.
Any arcane caster that multiclasses for Shield Proficiency or takes the Dual Wielder has already paid an extremely steep cost and should just be allowed to use their suboptimal TWF or quarterstaff + shield combo.
On the other hand, letting a druidic focus double as a quarterstaff lets druids effectively use a staff and shield, which I'm fine with since clerics can use a shield as their focus and druids can never benefit from heavy and most medium armor even with multiclassing since they're made of metal.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
The Forum Infestation (TM)
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Does a quarterstaff +1 used as an implement for an arcane caster get to add its +1 to attack and damage rolls?
Any time an unfathomably powerful entity sweeps in and offers godlike rewards in return for just a few teensy favors, it’s a scam. Unless it’s me. I’d never lie to you, reader dearest.
Tasha
magic items mention which rolls, if any, a bonus is added to.
For example, a quarterstaff +1 would add to the attack and damage rolls using the staff - not to any spell attacks or spell damage, and conversely a staff of power gives a +2 bonus to attack and damage rolls using the staff, as well as a +2 bonus to spell attacks (but not damage).
It is also worth noting that a quarterstaff, magical or not, is not an Arcane Focus according to the written rules. Nor can the staff (which is a focus) be used as a quarterstaff. Even the various Magic Items that are called a wand or staff (like the Staff of Frost for example) are not strictly usable as a focus - though as a DM I do allow players to use them as one. The Staff of Power is one of the few such staffs which specifies in its description that it can be wielded as a quarterstaff (it isn't a quarterstaff, but it can be used as one to attack).
But on topic, yeah a magic weapon only adds to weapon attack and weapon damage rolls, unless their description states otherwise.
According to Mike Mearls, a focus can be used as a staff. https://twitter.com/mikemearls/status/509454576999612416
Also, according to pg 141 of the DMG, a staff can be used as a quarterstaff, unless its description says otherwise.
Logically, it would work the other way as well; in fact I am nearly positive that I have read that it does, but I don't recall where precisely.
Any time an unfathomably powerful entity sweeps in and offers godlike rewards in return for just a few teensy favors, it’s a scam. Unless it’s me. I’d never lie to you, reader dearest.
Tasha
The Forum Infestation (TM)
Ah ok. I guess I hadn't read that section, only the description of every staff, the quarterstaff and the focus. Still, it doesn't really make sense: that section says staffs can be used a quarterstaff "unless its description says otherwise", but there are literally no staffs that say they can't. Conversely, there are a dozen staffs which mention that they *can* be used as a quarterstaff. Interestingly, all staffs which can turn into normal or magic quarterstaffs when their charges expire specify that they can be used as a quarterstaff, while the staffs that melt or disintegrate on expiration do not specify a quarterstaff use. All this suggests to me that things were initially designed with Staff and Quarterstaff as separate concepts, but then later the catch-all sentence was added to the DMG section on staffs. Personally, I dislike this feature as it breaks the otherwise reasonably standard rule that an Arcane focus is equal to a component pouch in almost every way - I think I will home rule a solution that satisfies me.
None of this, however, means that either a magic staff nor a quarterstaff can be used as an Arcane focus without a home rule.
Actually, the Spider Staff from the Starter Set says it can be used as a quarterstaff but it gets destroyed if you roll a 1 after it runs out of charges. But it also deals additional damage when used as a quarterstaff, like every other staff in the DMG other than the Staff of Charming.
Probably. The Starter Set came out in July 2014 while the DMG came out in December.
Not sure why that's important; the focus situation for different classes have always had significant differences. A component pouch works for any spellcaster and thus are much more useful for multiclass spellcasters. A divine focus can be put on a shield, whereas other spellcasters need to use a separate hand to handle a material component. With Xanathar's Guide to Everything, College of Blades Bards and Pact of the Blade Warlocks can use weapons as a spellcasting focus.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
The Forum Infestation (TM)