So I am currently playing a bard and have the item Doss Lute. during a perilous battle the question was raised, if I use the magical item to use a spell that would originally require focus if were to cast it myself (fly) and something were to happen that would originally break focus, because I used the item to cast it would that spell be broken. or would the spell continue because it's the item that cast the spell.
If so what are the specific mechanics of that, because it would seem if I have to keep focus myself (such as continuing to play the instrument) then that would mean that Using a spell like that makes me ineffective as long as I am wanting to use said spell because I wouldn't be able take my hands away from playing.
I can't find the ruling in the books so any help would be appreciated.
Doss Lute just allows you to cast a spell that is in the instrument. You are casting the spell and it would use your concentration. You do not need to keep playing the instrument though to maintain concentration. You only need to play the instrument the first action to cast the spell, afterwards you are free to perform any action or cast any other spells(casting a concentration spell will break your concentration from the spell cast from the instrument). You could even put the instrument away in a Bag of Holding. It doesn't need to remain on your person. You are the sole source of the spell from that point on.
Hey everyone,
So I am currently playing a bard and have the item Doss Lute. during a perilous battle the question was raised, if I use the magical item to use a spell that would originally require focus if were to cast it myself (fly) and something were to happen that would originally break focus, because I used the item to cast it would that spell be broken. or would the spell continue because it's the item that cast the spell.
If so what are the specific mechanics of that, because it would seem if I have to keep focus myself (such as continuing to play the instrument) then that would mean that Using a spell like that makes me ineffective as long as I am wanting to use said spell because I wouldn't be able take my hands away from playing.
I can't find the ruling in the books so any help would be appreciated.
Thank you,
A grateful Bard
Doss Lute just allows you to cast a spell that is in the instrument. You are casting the spell and it would use your concentration. You do not need to keep playing the instrument though to maintain concentration. You only need to play the instrument the first action to cast the spell, afterwards you are free to perform any action or cast any other spells(casting a concentration spell will break your concentration from the spell cast from the instrument). You could even put the instrument away in a Bag of Holding. It doesn't need to remain on your person. You are the sole source of the spell from that point on.