Does the wearing of the ring get the advantage bonus on spells that last more than 1 round? My interpretation of RAW is that only happens when the spell is actually cast at the player. After the initial casting I would rule it as a spell effect.
The wording for that magic item doesn’t seem to contain the wording normally associated with initial casting being the time it’s actively helping. For example, ”when you cast…” or “when a spell is cast…”
when a spell is cast that has some ongoing effect, creatures/objects/points in space are targets. This includes things that become targeted in the future. This an become quite confusing depending on where a line is drawn for targeting, if at all.
“While wearing this ring, you have advantage on saving throws against any spell that targets only you (not in an area of effect). In addition, if you roll a 20 for the save and the spell is 7th level or lower, the spell has no effect on you and instead targets the caster, using the slot level, spell save DC, attack bonus, and spellcasting ability of the caster.“
The description I have says that the character has advantage on the save if they are targeted and are the only target.
So my interpretation is that if a spell like hold person is cast at the character, they would have advantage on that roll. If they fail I believe they’d still have advantage since they’re still being effected by the spell continue int to be a target.
The ring wouldn’t be able to effect the saves for a fireball or other similar AOEs since there are multiple targets.
if there is a spell that has the ability to target more creatures as the choice of the caster, but the caster chooses only 1 target then the ring would come into effect. For example using a higher level slot for hold person, which allows for additional targets, but then choosing to to target additional creatures for some reason.
An interesting spell to look into might be the Snare spell. It seems to be written in a way to target a single creature, but it’s a touch spell and seems to also target and consume the rope used in casting. Strictly adhering to RAW would mean no advantage vs this spell if using the ring. A more lax ruling could be that the wearer of the ring gains advantage if they’re the only creature targeted by a spell.
Also the ring of spell turning is a rather weak effect. The number of spells that only target you and have a saving throw is rather low. Most of the single target spells are to hit.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Does the wearing of the ring get the advantage bonus on spells that last more than 1 round? My interpretation of RAW is that only happens when the spell is actually cast at the player. After the initial casting I would rule it as a spell effect.
The wording for that magic item doesn’t seem to contain the wording normally associated with initial casting being the time it’s actively helping.
For example, ”when you cast…” or “when a spell is cast…”
when a spell is cast that has some ongoing effect, creatures/objects/points in space are targets. This includes things that become targeted in the future. This an become quite confusing depending on where a line is drawn for targeting, if at all.
“While wearing this ring, you have advantage on saving throws against any spell that targets only you (not in an area of effect). In addition, if you roll a 20 for the save and the spell is 7th level or lower, the spell has no effect on you and instead targets the caster, using the slot level, spell save DC, attack bonus, and spellcasting ability of the caster.“
The description I have says that the character has advantage on the save if they are targeted and are the only target.
So my interpretation is that if a spell like hold person is cast at the character, they would have advantage on that roll. If they fail I believe they’d still have advantage since they’re still being effected by the spell continue int to be a target.
The ring wouldn’t be able to effect the saves for a fireball or other similar AOEs since there are multiple targets.
if there is a spell that has the ability to target more creatures as the choice of the caster, but the caster chooses only 1 target then the ring would come into effect. For example using a higher level slot for hold person, which allows for additional targets, but then choosing to to target additional creatures for some reason.
An interesting spell to look into might be the Snare spell. It seems to be written in a way to target a single creature, but it’s a touch spell and seems to also target and consume the rope used in casting. Strictly adhering to RAW would mean no advantage vs this spell if using the ring. A more lax ruling could be that the wearer of the ring gains advantage if they’re the only creature targeted by a spell.
Also the ring of spell turning is a rather weak effect. The number of spells that only target you and have a saving throw is rather low. Most of the single target spells are to hit.