My question is if a monk (for example shadow monk) used Ki to cast darkness or darkvision into the Ring, then later used the spell from the ring, would that count as using Ki during their action allowing the use of Ki-Fueled Attack?
Like Saga said, The action to release the spell from the ring of spell storing does not use ki, so it doesn't meet the requirements for ki-fueled strike.
I think by the wording, RaW wouldn't allow it to be put into the ring by the Monk. Rules are pretty strict in exact wording and the use of the terms "spell slot" immediately discounts the Monk's ability to start the process.
That said, as a DM, I would likely allow it to work the same as a spellcaster doing it simply for rule of cool. It makes some sense logically, although mechanically I can see a DM not allowing it because Ki and magic are different enough.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Talk to your Players.Talk to your DM. If more people used this advice, there would be 24.74% fewer threads on Tactics, Rules and DM discussions.
So RAW yes you can store it and I would echo what Saga said. Falwith as rules as written another caster can counter spell a monk casting that cause it even says that they are casting the spell and have taken out a bunch of the guess work there ( not perfect but it was better then old editions). Generally the ability says if you are casting it or not. If its being cast then yes. https://www.sageadvice.eu/can-the-casting-of-a-warlocks-mystic-arcanum-be-targetted-for-counterspell/
Shadow Arts
Starting when you choose this tradition at 3rd level, you can use your ki to duplicate the effects of certain spells. As an action, you can spend 2 ki points to cast darkness, darkvision, pass without trace, or silence, without providing material components. Additionally, you gain the minor illusion cantrip if you don’t already know it.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
My question is if a monk (for example shadow monk) used Ki to cast darkness or darkvision into the Ring, then later used the spell from the ring, would that count as using Ki during their action allowing the use of Ki-Fueled Attack?
It would count on the turn you actually cast it into the ring, but not when you release the spell from the ring later.
Like Saga said, The action to release the spell from the ring of spell storing does not use ki, so it doesn't meet the requirements for ki-fueled strike.
I think by the wording, RaW wouldn't allow it to be put into the ring by the Monk. Rules are pretty strict in exact wording and the use of the terms "spell slot" immediately discounts the Monk's ability to start the process.
That said, as a DM, I would likely allow it to work the same as a spellcaster doing it simply for rule of cool. It makes some sense logically, although mechanically I can see a DM not allowing it because Ki and magic are different enough.
Talk to your Players. Talk to your DM. If more people used this advice, there would be 24.74% fewer threads on Tactics, Rules and DM discussions.
So RAW yes you can store it and I would echo what Saga said. Falwith as rules as written another caster can counter spell a monk casting that cause it even says that they are casting the spell and have taken out a bunch of the guess work there ( not perfect but it was better then old editions). Generally the ability says if you are casting it or not. If its being cast then yes.
https://www.sageadvice.eu/can-the-casting-of-a-warlocks-mystic-arcanum-be-targetted-for-counterspell/
Shadow Arts
Starting when you choose this tradition at 3rd level, you can use your ki to duplicate the effects of certain spells. As an action, you can spend 2 ki points to cast darkness, darkvision, pass without trace, or silence, without providing material components. Additionally, you gain the minor illusion cantrip if you don’t already know it.