"Every area of effect has a point of origin, a location from which the spells energy erupts"
You select a cube's point of origin, which lies anywhere on a face of the cubic effect. The cube's size is expressed as the length of each side. A cube's point of origin is not included in the cube's area of effect, unless you decide otherwise
The part where it states "unless you decide otherwise" seem to indicate that its perfectly fine to position yourself at the center of the cube as well as the sides of the cube.
Since the "thunderous wave of force sweeps out from you". It shouldn't be damaging you either. Since it's worded similarly to arms of Hadar in that aspect where it states "Tendrils of dark energy erupt from you "
A Thunderwave's point of origin lies anywhere on a face of the cubic effect and is not included in the cube's area of effect, unless you decide otherwise. If you do, while the wave of thunderous force sweeps out from you. you could target yourself according to cube AOE rules.
A Thunderwave's point of origin lies anywhere on a face of the cubic effect and is not included in the cube's area of effect, unless you decide otherwise. If you do, while the wave of thunderous force sweeps out from you. you could target yourself according to cube AOE rules
You wouldn't be targeting yourself because from the spell description.
"A wave of thunderous force sweeps out from you"
It's pretty much same description as arms of Hadar.
"You invoke the power of Hadar, the Dark Hunger. Tendrils of dark energy erupt from you"
You wouldn't argue that arms of Hadar targets yourself.
A Thunderwave's point of origin lies anywhere on a face of the cubic effect and is not included in the cube's area of effect, unless you decide otherwise. If you do, while the wave of thunderous force sweeps out from you. you could target yourself according to cube AOE rules
You wouldn't be targeting yourself because from the spell description.
"A wave of thunderous force sweeps out from you"
It's pretty much same description as arms of Hadar.
"You invoke the power of Hadar, the Dark Hunger. Tendrils of dark energy erupt from you"
You wouldn't argue that arms of Hadar targets yourself.
That’s an interesting point, because RAW, arms of Hadar absolutely targets the caster. Similar spells like sword burst specify “other” creatures, but arms of Hadar doesn’t.
I don’t imagine it’s intentional, but it’s not ambiguous at all.
Worth noting that a cube has 6 faces, not 4. You could feasibly be in the middle and target yourself by placing the middle of the bottom face at your feet and pointing the thunderwave upwards.
The force would erupt "from you" (r feet) and would also be in a cube around you.
You wouldn't argue that arms of Hadar targets yourself.
That’s an interesting point, because RAW, arms of Hadar absolutely targets the caster. Similar spells like sword burst specify “other” creatures, but arms of Hadar doesn’t.
I don’t imagine it’s intentional, but it’s not ambiguous at all.
Ha! You're right. The power of naturalistic language is impressive if nobody's noticed this until now. Because yeah, I don't think the spell is supposed to hit the caster either, but it does. I have never heard of anyone playing it that way though.
The Dev seem to believe such language is meant to exclude the origin creature
"Meant" being the operative word. It is hardly the only place where the wording they use doesn't match the intention they had. And we're left with some places saying "all other creatures" and some saying "each creature" and then we have to decide if they are meant to describe the same procedure or not at each table. I've given up waiting for errata for such inconsistencies, I just hope they take better care in the next edition...
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I keep reading and watching videos that thunderwave is on the edge of the cube and not the center of the cube... (https://mobile.twitter.com/JeremyECrawford/status/691682429917011968?s=19)
But RAW, I read
"Every area of effect has a point of origin, a location from which the spells energy erupts"
You select a cube's point of origin, which lies anywhere on a face of the cubic effect. The cube's size is expressed as the length of each side. A cube's point of origin is not included in the cube's area of effect, unless you decide otherwise
The part where it states "unless you decide otherwise" seem to indicate that its perfectly fine to position yourself at the center of the cube as well as the sides of the cube.
Since the "thunderous wave of force sweeps out from you". It shouldn't be damaging you either. Since it's worded similarly to arms of Hadar in that aspect where it states "Tendrils of dark energy erupt from you "
am i missing something?
You select a cube's point of origin, which lies anywhere on a face of the cubic effect.
A Thunderwave's point of origin lies anywhere on a face of the cubic effect and is not included in the cube's area of effect, unless you decide otherwise. If you do, while the wave of thunderous force sweeps out from you. you could target yourself according to cube AOE rules.
(Delete)
You wouldn't be targeting yourself because from the spell description.
"A wave of thunderous force sweeps out from you"
It's pretty much same description as arms of Hadar.
"You invoke the power of Hadar, the Dark Hunger. Tendrils of dark energy erupt from you"
You wouldn't argue that arms of Hadar targets yourself.
I feel like you are only reading the first part and completely ignoring the second part which states:
"A cube's point of origin is not included in the cube's area of effect, UNLESS YOU DECIDE OTHERWISE
Nevermind, figured out something that makes sense.
The origination point of the spell must be on the face and outside the cube
If the player decide otherwise and wants to put the point of origin inside the cube, that point must still be touching the face of the cube.
So, caster can't be in the center of the cube.
While the point of origin can't be in the center of a cube, it can still be included in the area of effect if the caster decide to.
Arma of Hadar is not a cube so it works differenty.
That’s an interesting point, because RAW, arms of Hadar absolutely targets the caster. Similar spells like sword burst specify “other” creatures, but arms of Hadar doesn’t.
I don’t imagine it’s intentional, but it’s not ambiguous at all.
Worth noting that a cube has 6 faces, not 4. You could feasibly be in the middle and target yourself by placing the middle of the bottom face at your feet and pointing the thunderwave upwards.
The force would erupt "from you" (r feet) and would also be in a cube around you.
Make your Artificer work with any other class with 174 Multiclassing Feats for your Artificer Multiclass Character!
DM's Guild Releases on This Thread Or check them all out on DMs Guild!
DrivethruRPG Releases on This Thread - latest release: My Character is a Werewolf: balanced rules for Lycanthropy!
I have started discussing/reviewing 3rd party D&D content on Substack - stay tuned for semi-regular posts!
Ha! You're right. The power of naturalistic language is impressive if nobody's noticed this until now. Because yeah, I don't think the spell is supposed to hit the caster either, but it does. I have never heard of anyone playing it that way though.
The Dev seem to believe such language is meant to exclude the origin creature
Here's another exemple given in that direction;
"Meant" being the operative word. It is hardly the only place where the wording they use doesn't match the intention they had. And we're left with some places saying "all other creatures" and some saying "each creature" and then we have to decide if they are meant to describe the same procedure or not at each table. I've given up waiting for errata for such inconsistencies, I just hope they take better care in the next edition...