Hello. Is there any kind of faq or guidelines on how a rope of climbing moves and what it can do? The description says once activated it moves 10 feet per round towards a destination. Does that include up? I would assume it would have to because otherwise it is pretty useless as a climbing aid. Does it have to attach on both ends or can it remain floating so long as its base remains anchored? How much weight can it support while moving? Could it move if a grappling hook was attached to the head? Does it even need one or can it just 'fasten' to whatever I need? Clearly it isn't made to replace magical flight, but I could definitely see it being used to go straight up and make an unsupported climbing pole.
The description is really vague. I will of course talk with my DM, but I wanted to see if there were any official answers or consensus first.
You don't need a grappling hook, the rope fastens securely on its own. It can definitely float on its own power. It says it can hold 3000 pounds, but given that its commands are limited to "go to that point", "fasten", "knot/unknot", or "coil", I would say it cannot actually carry anything, though I'd allow a player to fasten it around a plausible target and then just pull the rope and object back physically.
I am assuming at least one side needs to be anchored, otherwise it seems like immovable rod light. Thoughts?
And when I said carry I meant lets say I tell the rope to cross a chasm and then I hook something on the rope as it begins moving. Can it support weight while doing that?
It can move to a target, knot itself for easy climbing, and support a great deal of weight, but otherwise it appears to simply be a rope. And no, I don't think the magic can move more than the rope itself.
I’d definitely say it can move across one, but I don’t think it can hold itself rigid mid-air so that someone can then attempt to walk/swing/hang from it if it’s not tied down
I'm not sure I'm reading a clear answer to the question, which I think is "can the Rope of Climbing move while attached to an object".
i.e. You tie the rope to your belt like a harness, then if you command the rope to move to a location - will the rope drag you in that direction 10 ft/ round? Or does the magic not work and it wouldn't move anywhere because it's tied up to you?
Hello. Is there any kind of faq or guidelines on how a rope of climbing moves and what it can do? The description says once activated it moves 10 feet per round towards a destination. Does that include up? I would assume it would have to because otherwise it is pretty useless as a climbing aid. Does it have to attach on both ends or can it remain floating so long as its base remains anchored? How much weight can it support while moving? Could it move if a grappling hook was attached to the head? Does it even need one or can it just 'fasten' to whatever I need? Clearly it isn't made to replace magical flight, but I could definitely see it being used to go straight up and make an unsupported climbing pole.
The description is really vague. I will of course talk with my DM, but I wanted to see if there were any official answers or consensus first.
You don't need a grappling hook, the rope fastens securely on its own. It can definitely float on its own power. It says it can hold 3000 pounds, but given that its commands are limited to "go to that point", "fasten", "knot/unknot", or "coil", I would say it cannot actually carry anything, though I'd allow a player to fasten it around a plausible target and then just pull the rope and object back physically.
I am assuming at least one side needs to be anchored, otherwise it seems like immovable rod light. Thoughts?
And when I said carry I meant lets say I tell the rope to cross a chasm and then I hook something on the rope as it begins moving. Can it support weight while doing that?
It can move to a target, knot itself for easy climbing, and support a great deal of weight, but otherwise it appears to simply be a rope. And no, I don't think the magic can move more than the rope itself.
It really only specifies that it moves towards a destination of your choice.
As a DM I would then assume it could be used to span a chasm or some such.
I’d definitely say it can move across one, but I don’t think it can hold itself rigid mid-air so that someone can then attempt to walk/swing/hang from it if it’s not tied down
I'm not sure I'm reading a clear answer to the question, which I think is "can the Rope of Climbing move while attached to an object".
i.e. You tie the rope to your belt like a harness, then if you command the rope to move to a location - will the rope drag you in that direction 10 ft/ round? Or does the magic not work and it wouldn't move anywhere because it's tied up to you?
As I understand it’s effect, the rope will only move its own weight, its magic cannot be used to tow objects.
when the rope stops moving you can tell it to secure itself to something.