Any help, clarification, or homebrew ideas for the following example is greatly appreciated. Our Bard uses bardic inspiration on our wizard. Now on the wizard’s turn, he casts burning hands on three creatures within range. The creatures now must make a Dexterity saving throw. How or can bardic inspiration be used in this situation? For example, can the wizard roll to increase the saving throw number and if so, would that be for the entire attack or just one creature. Thoughts?
Since we're in Rules, it has no effect on that particular spell.
Homebrew, I MIGHT allow a +1 to the DC if I was feeling generous. More likely I'd just tell them it needs to be applied as appropriate (attack roll or whatever)
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Talk to your Players.Talk to your DM. If more people used this advice, there would be 24.74% fewer threads on Tactics, Rules and DM discussions.
Any help, clarification, or homebrew ideas for the following example is greatly appreciated. Our Bard uses bardic inspiration on our wizard. Now on the wizard’s turn, he casts burning hands on three creatures within range. The creatures now must make a Dexterity saving throw. How or can bardic inspiration be used in this situation? For example, can the wizard roll to increase the saving throw number and if so, would that be for the entire attack or just one creature. Thoughts?
If you're going by the rules, Bardic Inspiration doesn't help a player who's forcing saving throws on their targets instead of making attack rolls against them. The only Bard subclass that can affect enemy saving throws is the College Of Eloquence:
Unsettling Words
3rd-level College of Eloquence feature
You can spin words laced with magic that unsettle a creature and cause it to doubt itself. As a bonus action, you can expend one use of your Bardic Inspiration and choose one creature you can see within 60 feet of you. Roll the Bardic Inspiration die. The creature must subtract the number rolled from the next saving throw it makes before the start of your next turn.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Any help, clarification, or homebrew ideas for the following example is greatly appreciated. Our Bard uses bardic inspiration on our wizard. Now on the wizard’s turn, he casts burning hands on three creatures within range. The creatures now must make a Dexterity saving throw. How or can bardic inspiration be used in this situation? For example, can the wizard roll to increase the saving throw number and if so, would that be for the entire attack or just one creature. Thoughts?
Since we're in Rules, it has no effect on that particular spell.
Homebrew, I MIGHT allow a +1 to the DC if I was feeling generous. More likely I'd just tell them it needs to be applied as appropriate (attack roll or whatever)
Talk to your Players. Talk to your DM. If more people used this advice, there would be 24.74% fewer threads on Tactics, Rules and DM discussions.
If you're going by the rules, Bardic Inspiration doesn't help a player who's forcing saving throws on their targets instead of making attack rolls against them. The only Bard subclass that can affect enemy saving throws is the College Of Eloquence:
Unsettling Words
3rd-level College of Eloquence feature
You can spin words laced with magic that unsettle a creature and cause it to doubt itself. As a bonus action, you can expend one use of your Bardic Inspiration and choose one creature you can see within 60 feet of you. Roll the Bardic Inspiration die. The creature must subtract the number rolled from the next saving throw it makes before the start of your next turn.