so lets say i cast call lightning next turn: action use the effect of the call lightning (so not casting it again just useing it) can i then as a bonus action cast healing word, or is the use of the spell conciderd the same as casting a spell as an action
The action on a concentration spell is not the same as casting the spell, so you are able to cast additional leveled spells as a bonus action.
That's one of the reasons the sorcerer metamagic Quickened Spell is so good. Get a concentration spell going with a repeating action (like Flame Sphere or Wall of Light or something) and then still be able to cast additional spells as bonus actions as long as you have sorcery points.
1st. Casting a Spell as an Action provides no restriction on other spellcasting you do. Even if you were to use an action to cast a spell, you're not restricted because of this.
2nd. Casting a spell as a Bonus Action is what creates a limit for your turn. If you cast a spell as a Bonus Action no other spells cast on your turn can be anything other than cantrips.
That said... the action used to interact with an ongoing spell effect isn't "Casting" a spell, so it isn't affected by the Bonus Action restriction in any way.
In your example, you can absolutely call down lighting and cast healing word on the same turn. For sure. (just not the 1st round when you "Cast" it)
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
To be more clear using a bonus action is using a bonus action. If on your turn you use a bonus action to make use of a spell effect that says you can use your bonus action, you can then not also cast a spell that takes a bonus action. You can do one or the other but not both on the same turn.
The action on a concentration spell is not the same as casting the spell, so you are able to cast additional leveled spells as a bonus action.
That's one of the reasons the sorcerer metamagic Quickened Spell is so good. Get a concentration spell going with a repeating action (like Flame Sphere or Wall of Light or something) and then still be able to cast additional spells as bonus actions as long as you have sorcery points.
In the case of Flaming Sphere (I assume that's the spell you meant), however, you would not be able to move it and cast healing word the same turn as both use a bonus action. You could, however, keep flaming sphere up and running and enemies next to it would still take damage if they end their turn next to it.
To answer the OP’s question - Yes, after casting call lightning in red 1 you can use your action to bring down a second bolt in red 2 and use your bonus action to caste the instantaneous spell healing word. The 2 key pieces hear are that healing word is a bonus action to caste spell ( or you wouldn’t be able to caste it) AND that it isn’t a concentration spell ( or one of the two spells would fail- probably the call lightning as it’s the older spell) technically you could cast both in the same round as long as both those requirements are met.
I think give more proof that the spellcasting bonus action rules are not right and should be removed for DnD 6e. You can already cast a leveled spell as a bonus action and basically cast another leveled spell as an action. Having Call Lightning up allows a Sorcerer to Metamagic Quicken Spell to cast Fireball. But even no Sorcerer you can have Flaming Sphere up and cast Fireball as your action then move Flaming Sphere to hit multiple enemies doing the same damage as if you'd just cast it. The bonus action spellcasting rules make no sense.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
so lets say i cast call lightning
next turn: action use the effect of the call lightning (so not casting it again just useing it) can i then as a bonus action cast healing word,
or is the use of the spell conciderd the same as casting a spell as an action
The action on a concentration spell is not the same as casting the spell, so you are able to cast additional leveled spells as a bonus action.
That's one of the reasons the sorcerer metamagic Quickened Spell is so good. Get a concentration spell going with a repeating action (like Flame Sphere or Wall of Light or something) and then still be able to cast additional spells as bonus actions as long as you have sorcery points.
1st. Casting a Spell as an Action provides no restriction on other spellcasting you do. Even if you were to use an action to cast a spell, you're not restricted because of this.
2nd. Casting a spell as a Bonus Action is what creates a limit for your turn. If you cast a spell as a Bonus Action no other spells cast on your turn can be anything other than cantrips.
That said... the action used to interact with an ongoing spell effect isn't "Casting" a spell, so it isn't affected by the Bonus Action restriction in any way.
In your example, you can absolutely call down lighting and cast healing word on the same turn. For sure. (just not the 1st round when you "Cast" it)
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
To be more clear using a bonus action is using a bonus action. If on your turn you use a bonus action to make use of a spell effect that says you can use your bonus action, you can then not also cast a spell that takes a bonus action. You can do one or the other but not both on the same turn.
In the case of Flaming Sphere (I assume that's the spell you meant), however, you would not be able to move it and cast healing word the same turn as both use a bonus action. You could, however, keep flaming sphere up and running and enemies next to it would still take damage if they end their turn next to it.
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?
To answer the OP’s question - Yes, after casting call lightning in red 1 you can use your action to bring down a second bolt in red 2 and use your bonus action to caste the instantaneous spell healing word. The 2 key pieces hear are that healing word is a bonus action to caste spell ( or you wouldn’t be able to caste it) AND that it isn’t a concentration spell ( or one of the two spells would fail- probably the call lightning as it’s the older spell) technically you could cast both in the same round as long as both those requirements are met.
Wisea$$ DM and Player since 1979.
I think give more proof that the spellcasting bonus action rules are not right and should be removed for DnD 6e. You can already cast a leveled spell as a bonus action and basically cast another leveled spell as an action. Having Call Lightning up allows a Sorcerer to Metamagic Quicken Spell to cast Fireball. But even no Sorcerer you can have Flaming Sphere up and cast Fireball as your action then move Flaming Sphere to hit multiple enemies doing the same damage as if you'd just cast it. The bonus action spellcasting rules make no sense.