I need some help interpreting the rules on the Rite Focus feature for Blood Hunter. The general ability says "Starting at 3rd level, your weapon becomes a conduit for the power of your pact with your chosen patron. While you have an active crimson rite, you can use your weapon as a spellcasting focus for your warlock spells, and you gain a specific benefit based on your chosen pact." My chosen pact is "The Celestial. As a bonus action, you expend one use of your Blood Maledict feature to heal one creature you can see within 60 feet of you."
Is having an active Crimson Rite a prerequisite for using the healing ability OR is it just saying that an active rite causes my weapon to qualify as a focus and the healing is a separate ability I can use regardless of whether a rite is active or not.
It's worded confusingly, but based on the fact that all the other patrons specify when your crimson rite needs to be active, I'd say you can use it whenever you want.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny. Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I need some help interpreting the rules on the Rite Focus feature for Blood Hunter. The general ability says "Starting at 3rd level, your weapon becomes a conduit for the power of your pact with your chosen patron. While you have an active crimson rite, you can use your weapon as a spellcasting focus for your warlock spells, and you gain a specific benefit based on your chosen pact." My chosen pact is "The Celestial. As a bonus action, you expend one use of your Blood Maledict feature to heal one creature you can see within 60 feet of you."
Is having an active Crimson Rite a prerequisite for using the healing ability OR is it just saying that an active rite causes my weapon to qualify as a focus and the healing is a separate ability I can use regardless of whether a rite is active or not.
Thank you!
It's worded confusingly, but based on the fact that all the other patrons specify when your crimson rite needs to be active, I'd say you can use it whenever you want.
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny.
Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)