I play a half-orc Barbarian (I think that should be capitalized because we're awesome that way) and I recently leveled up to 3. For my Primal Path, I picked the Path of the Ancestral Guardian and I had a question. When I rage, do my Guardians attack whatever/whoever I'm raging against after my turn is done? Or do they stop after my turn is done? I may not be understanding the wording in the book and here on D&D Beyond.
This is what the Ancestral Guardian level 3 Features says:
Ancestral Protectors
" Starting when you choose this path at 3rd level, spectral warriors appear when you enter your rage. While you’re raging, the first creature you hit with an attack on your turn becomes the target of the warriors, which hinder its attacks. Until the start of your next turn, that target has disadvantage on any attack roll that isn’t against you, and when the target hits a creature other than you with an attack, that creature has resistance to the damage dealt by the attack. The effect on the target ends early if your rage ends. "
Your spectral warriors target is the creature that you hit for the first time on your turn with an attack. This creature will be hindered by your spectral warriors until the start of your next turn. So if you Hit a creature for the first time on your turn with an attack while you are raging, then that creature is being hindered until the start of your next turn assuming you are still raging. So if your turn comes to an end, that creature will still be hindered until your new turn starts.
Hello everyone!
I play a half-orc Barbarian (I think that should be capitalized because we're awesome that way) and I recently leveled up to 3. For my Primal Path, I picked the Path of the Ancestral Guardian and I had a question. When I rage, do my Guardians attack whatever/whoever I'm raging against after my turn is done? Or do they stop after my turn is done? I may not be understanding the wording in the book and here on D&D Beyond.
Any feedback would be helpful.
Hey KingPriest!
This is what the Ancestral Guardian level 3 Features says:
Ancestral Protectors
" Starting when you choose this path at 3rd level, spectral warriors appear when you enter your rage. While you’re raging, the first creature you hit with an attack on your turn becomes the target of the warriors, which hinder its attacks. Until the start of your next turn, that target has disadvantage on any attack roll that isn’t against you, and when the target hits a creature other than you with an attack, that creature has resistance to the damage dealt by the attack. The effect on the target ends early if your rage ends. "
Your spectral warriors target is the creature that you hit for the first time on your turn with an attack. This creature will be hindered by your spectral warriors until the start of your next turn. So if you Hit a creature for the first time on your turn with an attack while you are raging, then that creature is being hindered until the start of your next turn assuming you are still raging. So if your turn comes to an end, that creature will still be hindered until your new turn starts.
I hope this made it clear for you!
Rule lawyer by nature, Homebrewer by heart.