The rune say that they can be used once per day without a spell slot if we dont have any spell slots to use for the spells, so I was wondering if I could theoretically craft one and hand it to a barbarian or other ally so they can cast something like sanctuary which is on the list of spells one of the runes could have? Im wondering because it doesnt say that I cant do that but it implies that the crafter/you specifically use them but doesnt say anythint about not letting someone else use a rune?
(Also plus I have a character with their backstory being where they open a rune shop and sell runes to people, so im hoping it works the way i want or maybe the dm would be fine with it if im lucky.)
I’d say no, they are not transferable. While I agree it seems you could scribe it on anyone’s nonmagical gear, it says “You temporarily learn the 1st-level spells that correspond to the runes you inscribed”
Not the creature using the equipment you scribed it on learns the spell, just “you.”
Then it says “you are wearing or carrying any rune-marked object, you can cast the spells associated with those runes using any spell slots you have.”
The “you” part makes it pretty clear you can’t share it.
Ahh I see, wel thank you for letting me know that mechanically its not how it works but maybe with the dms approval I could come up with a way to scribe the runes for people that give them the spells temporarily but can only be used by them? Id have to see, but once again thanks for the help and feedback!
Ahh I see, wel thank you for letting me know that mechanically its not how it works but maybe with the dms approval I could come up with a way to scribe the runes for people that give them the spells temporarily but can only be used by them? Id have to see, but once again thanks for the help and feedback!
Well, talk to your DM. I’d probably allow for it, basically using the rules for a spell scroll, and just flavoring the scroll as a rune.
I’d say no, they are not transferable. While I agree it seems you could scribe it on anyone’s nonmagical gear, it says “You temporarily learn the 1st-level spells that correspond to the runes you inscribed”
Not the creature using the equipment you scribed it on learns the spell, just “you.”
Then it says “you are wearing or carrying any rune-marked object, you can cast the spells associated with those runes using any spell slots you have.”
The “you” part makes it pretty clear you can’t share it.
I probably wouldn't stress so much over the use of "you" tbh, that's just how they write most of the time. For example the Artificer feature "Infuse Item" use "you" repeatedly but I don't think anyone has ruled that an Artificer can't let other creatures use his infusions.
I’d say no, they are not transferable. While I agree it seems you could scribe it on anyone’s nonmagical gear, it says “You temporarily learn the 1st-level spells that correspond to the runes you inscribed”
Not the creature using the equipment you scribed it on learns the spell, just “you.”
Then it says “you are wearing or carrying any rune-marked object, you can cast the spells associated with those runes using any spell slots you have.”
The “you” part makes it pretty clear you can’t share it.
I probably wouldn't stress so much over the use of "you" tbh, that's just how they write most of the time. For example the Artificer feature "Infuse Item" use "you" repeatedly but I don't think anyone has ruled that an Artificer can't let other creatures use his infusions.
Read over the infusions. While “you” infuse the item, see the specific text with each one. They all say “a creature” or “the wearer” or “attacks made with this” something similar gets the benefit. Nothing about “you” have to activate it. The exception being the homunculus, which say it obeys your commands. The fact that rune carver has no such creature or wearer language actually reenforces my ruling.
Read over the infusions. While “you” infuse the item, see the specific text with each one. They all say “a creature” or “the wearer” or “attacks made with this” something similar gets the benefit. Nothing about “you” have to activate it. The exception being the homunculus, which say it obeys your commands. The fact that rune carver has no such creature or wearer language actually reenforces my ruling.
Not a bad point but still, the Infuse Item feature does say "If the item requires attunement, you can attune yourself to it the instant you infuse the item. If you decide to attune to the item later, you must do so using the normal process for attunement" and that would, with a strict reading, create a problem for many of the infusions.
Uh-huh. So, you can attune right away. Someone else needs the benefit of another rest to do so. An infusion can last indefinitely. Where, specifically, with which infusion, is there a problem?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
The rune say that they can be used once per day without a spell slot if we dont have any spell slots to use for the spells, so I was wondering if I could theoretically craft one and hand it to a barbarian or other ally so they can cast something like sanctuary which is on the list of spells one of the runes could have? Im wondering because it doesnt say that I cant do that but it implies that the crafter/you specifically use them but doesnt say anythint about not letting someone else use a rune?
(Also plus I have a character with their backstory being where they open a rune shop and sell runes to people, so im hoping it works the way i want or maybe the dm would be fine with it if im lucky.)
I’d say no, they are not transferable. While I agree it seems you could scribe it on anyone’s nonmagical gear, it says “You temporarily learn the 1st-level spells that correspond to the runes you inscribed”
Not the creature using the equipment you scribed it on learns the spell, just “you.”
Then it says “you are wearing or carrying any rune-marked object, you can cast the spells associated with those runes using any spell slots you have.”
The “you” part makes it pretty clear you can’t share it.
Ahh I see, wel thank you for letting me know that mechanically its not how it works but maybe with the dms approval I could come up with a way to scribe the runes for people that give them the spells temporarily but can only be used by them? Id have to see, but once again thanks for the help and feedback!
Well, talk to your DM. I’d probably allow for it, basically using the rules for a spell scroll, and just flavoring the scroll as a rune.
I probably wouldn't stress so much over the use of "you" tbh, that's just how they write most of the time. For example the Artificer feature "Infuse Item" use "you" repeatedly but I don't think anyone has ruled that an Artificer can't let other creatures use his infusions.
Read over the infusions. While “you” infuse the item, see the specific text with each one. They all say “a creature” or “the wearer” or “attacks made with this” something similar gets the benefit. Nothing about “you” have to activate it. The exception being the homunculus, which say it obeys your commands.
The fact that rune carver has no such creature or wearer language actually reenforces my ruling.
Not a bad point but still, the Infuse Item feature does say "If the item requires attunement, you can attune yourself to it the instant you infuse the item. If you decide to attune to the item later, you must do so using the normal process for attunement" and that would, with a strict reading, create a problem for many of the infusions.
Uh-huh. So, you can attune right away. Someone else needs the benefit of another rest to do so.
An infusion can last indefinitely. Where, specifically, with which infusion, is there a problem?