With the release of "Glory of the Giants", the Strike of the Giants feat is now on D&D officially, but I noticed that the wording of the feat doesn't mention whether it can picked multiple times or not. The reason I even bring this up is because prior to the release of the book, the official D&D YouTube channel did released a video talking about feats featured in the book, and one of the designers specifically called out Strike of the Giants being a feat one could grab more than once. My question for the D&D Beyond staff is whether this was a publishing error or if something changed prior to release? If this was a publishing error, if/when can we expect errata for the feat?
Well, yes, obviously. But what Red_The_Kid is asking is whether or not it should be able to be taken multiple times. This forum isn’t talking about whether it DOES, this is talking about whether it SHOULD based on what was previously said.
Well, yes, obviously. But what Red_The_Kid is asking is whether or not it should be able to be taken multiple times. This forum isn’t talking about whether it DOES, this is talking about whether it SHOULD based on what was previously said.
Does the published book say that it can be taken more than once? Dev comments in a video clip does not create RAW, actual text in books do.
It's actually up to the DM of the game you're playing. Not the book. Not the video. And not the errata.
Sometimes the developers say the wrong thing. They're human, at least as far as we can tell. There was a time when a dev stated that Tiny Hut doesn't have a floor even though the spell description specifies that it is a hemisphere and thus does indeed have a floor. The dev later corrected himself but his shame will live on forever the point remains they make mistakes.
It's actually up to the DM of the game you're playing. Not the book. Not the video. And not the errata.
Sometimes the developers say the wrong thing. They're human, at least as far as we can tell. There was a time when a dev stated that Tiny Hut doesn't have a floor even though the spell description specifies that it is a hemisphere and thus does indeed have a floor. The dev later corrected himself but his shame will live on forever the point remains they make mistakes.
Ultimately, yes, but when you ask a rules question in the rules subforum, then the answer you get is going to be based on RAW, which in this case is "feats may only be taken once unless there is specific wording in the feat to supersede this general rule".
Well, yes, obviously. But what Red_The_Kid is asking is whether or not it should be able to be taken multiple times. This forum isn’t talking about whether it DOES, this is talking about whether it SHOULD based on what was previously said.
Does the published book say that it can be taken more than once? Dev comments in a video clip does not create RAW, actual text in books do.
And the wording in a draft may have been changed before publication. So those comments may have been true at the time, based on then-current information, but now be incorrect based on what made it through the final edit.
It's actually up to the DM of the game you're playing. Not the book. Not the video. And not the errata.
Sometimes the developers say the wrong thing. They're human, at least as far as we can tell. There was a time when a dev stated that Tiny Hut doesn't have a floor even though the spell description specifies that it is a hemisphere and thus does indeed have a floor. The dev later corrected himself but his shame will live on forever the point remains they make mistakes.
Ultimately, yes, but when you ask a rules question in the rules subforum, then the answer you get is going to be based on RAW, which in this case is "feats may only be taken once unless there is specific wording in the feat to supersede this general rule".
No, no, no. Clearly this entire forum should just be replaced by a sticky post "Got a rules question? It's actually up to the DM of the game you're playing." That would save all of us from wasting our time actually replying with RAW answers that any particular game may or may not follow.
And in this case, the poster was asking the D&D Beyond staff, not the forum in general.
As far as my reply, someone else had already posted what the RAW is. There was no need for me to repeat it. It doesn't matter if the RAW is posted three hundred times, the DM of the actual game has final rule. And that's RAW and RAI.
No, no, no. Clearly this entire forum should just be replaced by a sticky post "Got a rules question? It's actually up to the DM of the game you're playing." That would save all of us from wasting our time actually replying with RAW answers that any particular game may or may not follow.
Yes, yes, yes!! Because twenty people posting the exact same thing in a row is always helpful and can sometimes even change reality!!!
And in this case, the poster was asking the D&D Beyond staff, not the forum in general.
As far as my reply, someone else had already posted what the RAW is. There was no need for me to repeat it. It doesn't matter if the RAW is posted three hundred times, the DM of the actual game has final rule. And that's RAW and RAI.
If the correct answer to the question is already posted, we can always choose Not to reply with further points that could confuse OP or future readers
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I know what you're thinking: "In that flurry of blows, did he use all his ki points, or save one?" Well, are ya feeling lucky, punk?
Well as a Goliath main I think I can answer this question the strike of the giants is a background feat given to you if you choose the giant foundling background and probably should and/or can only be chosen once, but yes ultimately it is determined by wether or not your dm allows it to be chosen more than once.
The feat is broken up similar to magic initiate so dnd beyond doesn't stop you from taking it multiple times if your DM says it's ok to take it more than once
With the release of "Glory of the Giants", the Strike of the Giants feat is now on D&D officially, but I noticed that the wording of the feat doesn't mention whether it can picked multiple times or not. The reason I even bring this up is because prior to the release of the book, the official D&D YouTube channel did released a video talking about feats featured in the book, and one of the designers specifically called out Strike of the Giants being a feat one could grab more than once. My question for the D&D Beyond staff is whether this was a publishing error or if something changed prior to release? If this was a publishing error, if/when can we expect errata for the feat?
For reference: https://youtube.com/clip/UgkxIZCIyG7jLZkQVNvgXJUIWoYkIbqT8iU-
Feats can only be taken once as the general rule, and must say explicitly if they can be taken multiple times
Find my D&D Beyond articles here
Well, yes, obviously. But what Red_The_Kid is asking is whether or not it should be able to be taken multiple times. This forum isn’t talking about whether it DOES, this is talking about whether it SHOULD based on what was previously said.
Does the published book say that it can be taken more than once? Dev comments in a video clip does not create RAW, actual text in books do.
It's actually up to the DM of the game you're playing. Not the book. Not the video. And not the errata.
Sometimes the developers say the wrong thing. They're human, at least as far as we can tell. There was a time when a dev stated that Tiny Hut doesn't have a floor even though the spell description specifies that it is a hemisphere and thus does indeed have a floor. The dev later corrected himself but
his shame will live on foreverthe point remains they make mistakes.Ultimately, yes, but when you ask a rules question in the rules subforum, then the answer you get is going to be based on RAW, which in this case is "feats may only be taken once unless there is specific wording in the feat to supersede this general rule".
And the wording in a draft may have been changed before publication. So those comments may have been true at the time, based on then-current information, but now be incorrect based on what made it through the final edit.
No, no, no. Clearly this entire forum should just be replaced by a sticky post "Got a rules question? It's actually up to the DM of the game you're playing." That would save all of us from wasting our time actually replying with RAW answers that any particular game may or may not follow.
And in this case, the poster was asking the D&D Beyond staff, not the forum in general.
As far as my reply, someone else had already posted what the RAW is. There was no need for me to repeat it. It doesn't matter if the RAW is posted three hundred times, the DM of the actual game has final rule. And that's RAW and RAI.
Yes, yes, yes!! Because twenty people posting the exact same thing in a row is always helpful and can sometimes even change reality!!!
If the correct answer to the question is already posted, we can always choose Not to reply with further points that could confuse OP or future readers
I know what you're thinking: "In that flurry of blows, did he use all his ki points, or save one?" Well, are ya feeling lucky, punk?
Well as a Goliath main I think I can answer this question the strike of the giants is a background feat given to you if you choose the giant foundling background and probably should and/or can only be chosen once, but yes ultimately it is determined by wether or not your dm allows it to be chosen more than once.
The feat is broken up similar to magic initiate so dnd beyond doesn't stop you from taking it multiple times if your DM says it's ok to take it more than once