Hello! Rules as written: can a rogue "double dash"? First a character has his movement, and then a character can choose to use its action to dash. Rogues can also use their bonus action to dash. Can a rogue then dash twice in the same round? In other words a rogue with 30 feet movement could get a total of 90 feet movement in one round?
There are no rules that say you can only dash, dodge, disengage, attack, hide, or cast a spell once per turn (though some of those don't have stacking benefits or have other rules). Unless otherwise stated, gaining an extra use of one of these actions does not prevent you from using your action for it as well.
i think it is possible to dash up to 32 times in a single turn(lvl 17 thief, haste, potion of speed, my house rule of nat 20 gives you 2 simultaneous turns and makes you first but officially only 8)
The dash action says "With a speed of 30 you can move up to 60 feet on your turn". And says, "The Increased speed equals your speed after any modifiers". Nowhere does it say a double dash is possible. Most people rule that casting multiple spells a round is not allowed, for one example. While there is no specific rule against it, there is also no specific rule for it. There is no logical reason a Rogue would be able to dash 1.5x or 2x as far as an unarmored fighter, and much cause to think they could not run faster than a monk or Barbarian who has increased movement.
“When you take the Dash action, you gain extra movement for the current turn. The increase equals your speed, after applying any modifiers.”
Cunning Action: “You can take a bonus action on each of your turns in combat. This action can be used only to take the Dash, Disengage or Hide action.”
I don’t see anything in the wording that prevents the Rogue using both their action and their Cunning Action to Dash in the same turn. Their total movement would be Speed x3.
The dash action says "With a speed of 30 you can move up to 60 feet on your turn". And says, "The Increased speed equals your speed after any modifiers". Nowhere does it say a double dash is possible. Most people rule that casting multiple spells a round is not allowed, for one example. While there is no specific rule against it, there is also no specific rule for it. There is no logical reason a Rogue would be able to dash 1.5x or 2x as far as an unarmored fighter, and much cause to think they could not run faster than a monk or Barbarian who has increased movement.
You can cast as many spells as you possibly can, there's no limitation except when casting a bonus action spell.
You can take the Dash action as many time as you possibly can, there's no limitation.
Here's a Sage Advice Compendium official ruling on this;
If you have a feature like Cunning Action or Step of the Wind, can you take the Dash action more than once on your turn? If you can take the Dash action as a bonus action, nothing in the rules prevents you from taking the Dash action with your regular action too. The same principle holds when you use a feature like Action Surge; you could use both of your actions to take the Dash action.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hello!
Rules as written: can a rogue "double dash"?
First a character has his movement, and then a character can choose to use its action to dash. Rogues can also use their bonus action to dash. Can a rogue then dash twice in the same round? In other words a rogue with 30 feet movement could get a total of 90 feet movement in one round?
Yes.
There are no rules that say you can only dash, dodge, disengage, attack, hide, or cast a spell once per turn (though some of those don't have stacking benefits or have other rules). Unless otherwise stated, gaining an extra use of one of these actions does not prevent you from using your action for it as well.
i think it is possible to dash up to 32 times in a single turn(lvl 17 thief, haste, potion of speed, my house rule of nat 20 gives you 2 simultaneous turns and makes you first but officially only 8)
I am leader of the yep cult:https://www.dndbeyond.com/forums/off-topic/adohands-kitchen/82135-yep-cult Pronouns are she/her
The dash action says "With a speed of 30 you can move up to 60 feet on your turn". And says, "The Increased speed equals your speed after any modifiers". Nowhere does it say a double dash is possible. Most people rule that casting multiple spells a round is not allowed, for one example. While there is no specific rule against it, there is also no specific rule for it.
There is no logical reason a Rogue would be able to dash 1.5x or 2x as far as an unarmored fighter, and much cause to think they could not run faster than a monk or Barbarian who has increased movement.
“When you take the Dash action, you gain extra movement for the current turn. The increase equals your speed, after applying any modifiers.”
Cunning Action: “You can take a bonus action on each of your turns in combat. This action can be used only to take the Dash, Disengage or Hide action.”
I don’t see anything in the wording that prevents the Rogue using both their action and their Cunning Action to Dash in the same turn. Their total movement would be Speed x3.
You can cast as many spells as you possibly can, there's no limitation except when casting a bonus action spell.
You can take the Dash action as many time as you possibly can, there's no limitation.
Here's a Sage Advice Compendium official ruling on this;