To the topic at hand, if casting a spell from an item means that you are still casting the spell, then if you have Metamagic options available can you apply the Metamagic to the spell you cast from the item? Or does the fact you are not using a spell slot negate the Metamatic ability?
Now I would assume that Quicken Spell won't apply here since you will need to use an action to expend the charge in order to cast the spell through the item. But since you are casting it via the item, then can you apply Careful Spell or Transmuted Spell?
This is a follow up to another post I made; I figured I should change the subject so that my new question is being properly addressed. Here is the initial thread:
https://www.dndbeyond.com/forums/dungeons-dragons-discussion/rules-game-mechanics/189017-quicken-spell-and-use-an-object-action
To the topic at hand, if casting a spell from an item means that you are still casting the spell, then if you have Metamagic options available can you apply the Metamagic to the spell you cast from the item? Or does the fact you are not using a spell slot negate the Metamatic ability?
Now I would assume that Quicken Spell won't apply here since you will need to use an action to expend the charge in order to cast the spell through the item. But since you are casting it via the item, then can you apply Careful Spell or Transmuted Spell?
As long as the item says that "you" cast the spell then Meta Magic should work just fine (with the exception of quicken as you yourself realised).
Even quicken is arguable. But it still counts as casting a spell, so you cannot cast two level spells.