Is the range the same when attacking with the staff-end of the polearm used? There's no mention of this, so I'd assume yes, just want to be sure so I don't cheat lol
Example: I attack and enemy 10 ft away with my glaive, miss, and go for a bonus action attack with my pole-end. Will I need to step 5 ft closer to attack or no?
When using the bonus action attack granted by Polearm Master the only thing that changes are the weapons damage die, and damage type. All other features/properties of the weapon remain the same.
Since it doesn't say it's not, the bonus action attack with the opposite end of the weapon is still using all weapon features unless noted otherwise such as for damage die & type. So if you use a magic weapon, the bonus and feature are still applicable.
Since it doesn't say it's not, the bonus action attack with the opposite end of the weapon is still using all weapon features unless noted otherwise such as for damage die & type. So if you use a magic weapon, the bonus and feature are still applicable.
In addition, just to be a bit more explicit. If it is a +2 glaive then (RAW) the attack with the butt end granted by pole arm master should also be magical with a +2 to hit and damage.
If the polearm has some other rider effect then the bonus action attack with the butt end would also receive that benefit (e.g. additional fire or poison damage - like the Spider Staff from LMoP which does an additional d6 poison damage).
However, as always, a DM can house rule differently.
Is the range the same when attacking with the staff-end of the polearm used?
There's no mention of this, so I'd assume yes, just want to be sure so I don't cheat lol
Example: I attack and enemy 10 ft away with my glaive, miss, and go for a bonus action attack with my pole-end.
Will I need to step 5 ft closer to attack or no?
Thanks for taking the time!
Yes.
When using the bonus action attack granted by Polearm Master the only thing that changes are the weapons damage die, and damage type. All other features/properties of the weapon remain the same.
Ask your DM. Some say you do not get any magical benefits of the blade because the damage is set to 1d4.
There is no Sage advice on this topic that I know of.
I personally would let you get full magic etc.
Since it doesn't say it's not, the bonus action attack with the opposite end of the weapon is still using all weapon features unless noted otherwise such as for damage die & type. So if you use a magic weapon, the bonus and feature are still applicable.
In addition, just to be a bit more explicit. If it is a +2 glaive then (RAW) the attack with the butt end granted by pole arm master should also be magical with a +2 to hit and damage.
If the polearm has some other rider effect then the bonus action attack with the butt end would also receive that benefit (e.g. additional fire or poison damage - like the Spider Staff from LMoP which does an additional d6 poison damage).
However, as always, a DM can house rule differently.
While not official ruling, the Dev also confirmed on X that reach apply to the opposite end