If a Shape changer is forced to return to another (smaller) form while it is grappling an enemy does the target remain grappled.
In this specific situation a Wild Shape Druid of the Moon is in the form of a Giant Constrictor Snake and has struck an enemy with a Constrict attack. Resulting in the target being Grappled and Restrained. Similar instances could result from use of Polymorph or even Enlarge/Reduce.
So I'm torn on whether or not the target remains grappled if the Druid, as a snake, is reduced to 0 HP, and I'm wondering if there are any specific rules that cover it.
The other way around is clear. Lose your hands, lose your grapple, but should we lose grapple upon Gaining hands?
Unless the transformation causes you to no longer meet the requirements for grappling (e.g. you're too small to grapple the target now or both your hands are full after your equipment returns), there's nothing in the rules that says you lose the grapple just because you changed shape. The druid would lose the snake's constrict though, and thus the target would no longer be restrained.
If a Shape changer is forced to return to another (smaller) form while it is grappling an enemy does the target remain grappled.
In this specific situation a Wild Shape Druid of the Moon is in the form of a Giant Constrictor Snake and has struck an enemy with a Constrict attack. Resulting in the target being Grappled and Restrained. Similar instances could result from use of Polymorph or even Enlarge/Reduce.
So I'm torn on whether or not the target remains grappled if the Druid, as a snake, is reduced to 0 HP, and I'm wondering if there are any specific rules that cover it.
The other way around is clear. Lose your hands, lose your grapple, but should we lose grapple upon Gaining hands?
Were you in my game?!
Funny enough, we had both things happen: Druid of the Moon Wild Shaped into Giant Constrictor Snake, getting reduced to 0hps; and Druid of the Moon Wild Shaped into something else (I believe a Brown Bear?), grappled (by a Froghemoth's tentacle), and then reduced to 0hps while grappled.
DM ruled in both cases that the grapple ended: losing snake form meant he lost the snake's grapple ability; and suddenly changing size from large to medium, coupled with the wet, slick environment, was enough to cause the Froghemoth, who was additionally busy fighting 4 other party members, to let him slip out. I do believe that last one was not ruled as a "from now on" type of general rule, but more of a specific "in this particular case" thing.
In my campaign, I need to avoid specific rulings. The snake actually ended up keeping her form long enough to KO her target. However, I imagine the situation coming up repeatedly as more and more contestants pick up shape changing abilities.
The reason I need to avoid specific rulings is that it's a PvP arena in the Play by Post Forum, and I don't want anyone to feel like they're more or less favored than others. Against monsters in a normal campaign, I'm happy to rule with, "Well, that simply makes sense." But in PvP it'd end up with "Why does it make sense for him but not for me?"
If a Shape changer is forced to return to another (smaller) form while it is grappling an enemy does the target remain grappled.
In this specific situation a Wild Shape Druid of the Moon is in the form of a Giant Constrictor Snake and has struck an enemy with a Constrict attack. Resulting in the target being Grappled and Restrained. Similar instances could result from use of Polymorph or even Enlarge/Reduce.
So I'm torn on whether or not the target remains grappled if the Druid, as a snake, is reduced to 0 HP, and I'm wondering if there are any specific rules that cover it.
The other way around is clear. Lose your hands, lose your grapple, but should we lose grapple upon Gaining hands?
Extended Signature
Unless the transformation causes you to no longer meet the requirements for grappling (e.g. you're too small to grapple the target now or both your hands are full after your equipment returns), there's nothing in the rules that says you lose the grapple just because you changed shape. The druid would lose the snake's constrict though, and thus the target would no longer be restrained.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
Were you in my game?!
Funny enough, we had both things happen: Druid of the Moon Wild Shaped into Giant Constrictor Snake, getting reduced to 0hps; and Druid of the Moon Wild Shaped into something else (I believe a Brown Bear?), grappled (by a Froghemoth's tentacle), and then reduced to 0hps while grappled.
DM ruled in both cases that the grapple ended: losing snake form meant he lost the snake's grapple ability; and suddenly changing size from large to medium, coupled with the wet, slick environment, was enough to cause the Froghemoth, who was additionally busy fighting 4 other party members, to let him slip out. I do believe that last one was not ruled as a "from now on" type of general rule, but more of a specific "in this particular case" thing.
In my campaign, I need to avoid specific rulings. The snake actually ended up keeping her form long enough to KO her target. However, I imagine the situation coming up repeatedly as more and more contestants pick up shape changing abilities.
The reason I need to avoid specific rulings is that it's a PvP arena in the Play by Post Forum, and I don't want anyone to feel like they're more or less favored than others. Against monsters in a normal campaign, I'm happy to rule with, "Well, that simply makes sense." But in PvP it'd end up with "Why does it make sense for him but not for me?"
Extended Signature