Here is the scenario: 1. I hit an enemy with Booming Blade on my turn 2. On the enemy's turn it chooses to run away 3. It leaves my range and I hit it with BB again (war caster opportunity attack)
How many times does the enemy take the movement part damage of booming blade?
How I think is happens is that when it chooses to move and moves 1ft it trigger the condition of BB from the Attack action on my turn. And then when it tries to leave my range it gets hit with a new instance of BB and if it chooses to move after that the movement part triggers again. Is this correct?
No. If you use War Caster to cast Booming Blade as a reaction, it "overwrites" the first casting before the first casting triggers. Moving 1ft does not satisfy the requirements of Booming Blade.
Booming blade was subject to errata. Previously, YES your scenario would work, as it only required the target willingly move. (so 1 foot would qualify). However as of the latest errata, Booming Blade requires the target to move at least 5 feet (willingly). So at the point it would trigger the boom, it would be out of range of your Opportunity attack.
HOWEVER. This could still occur if the enemy needed to move within your reach before leaving your reach. For example if you had him next to a wall, so that he had to go left or right, then continue that direction to leave your reach, the first move would trigger the boom, then the second movement would trigger your opp attack (and new boom, if you know.. you hit)
Since it now requires a minimum distance of movement, and OA occurs before the trigger, there is less of a chance of 2 BB move damage triggers (basically requires the scenario Thain pointed out). Most of the time it will trigger the OA before the BB move damage and can't have 2 identical effects, so will only take 1 BB move damage.
So, I know this doesnt apply to most people since this is a 18th level hypothetical, but eldritch knight at 18th level can replace 2 attacks with 2 wizard spells, say those 2 spells are booming blade, does the booming blade movement damage double?
So, I know this doesnt apply to most people since this is a 18th level hypothetical, but eldritch knight at 18th level can replace 2 attacks with 2 wizard spells, say those 2 spells are booming blade, does the booming blade movement damage double?
According to limit of Combining Magical Effects the effects of the same spell cast multiple times don't combine, however. Instead, the most potent effect--such as the highest bonus--from those castings applies while their durations overlap, or the most recent effect applies if the castings are equally potent and their durations overlap.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Here is the scenario:
1. I hit an enemy with Booming Blade on my turn
2. On the enemy's turn it chooses to run away
3. It leaves my range and I hit it with BB again (war caster opportunity attack)
How many times does the enemy take the movement part damage of booming blade?
How I think is happens is that when it chooses to move and moves 1ft it trigger the condition of BB from the Attack action on my turn. And then when it tries to leave my range it gets hit with a new instance of BB and if it chooses to move after that the movement part triggers again. Is this correct?
No. If you use War Caster to cast Booming Blade as a reaction, it "overwrites" the first casting before the first casting triggers. Moving 1ft does not satisfy the requirements of Booming Blade.
Booming blade was subject to errata. Previously, YES your scenario would work, as it only required the target willingly move. (so 1 foot would qualify). However as of the latest errata, Booming Blade requires the target to move at least 5 feet (willingly). So at the point it would trigger the boom, it would be out of range of your Opportunity attack.
HOWEVER. This could still occur if the enemy needed to move within your reach before leaving your reach. For example if you had him next to a wall, so that he had to go left or right, then continue that direction to leave your reach, the first move would trigger the boom, then the second movement would trigger your opp attack (and new boom, if you know.. you hit)
Thank you. This has been very helpful.
This reminds me of a similar question I had a few years back about OA BB (before errata): https://www.dndbeyond.com/forums/dungeons-dragons-discussion/rules-game-mechanics/29566-opportunity-attacks-and-booming-blade-question
Since it now requires a minimum distance of movement, and OA occurs before the trigger, there is less of a chance of 2 BB move damage triggers (basically requires the scenario Thain pointed out). Most of the time it will trigger the OA before the BB move damage and can't have 2 identical effects, so will only take 1 BB move damage.
So, I know this doesnt apply to most people since this is a 18th level hypothetical, but eldritch knight at 18th level can replace 2 attacks with 2 wizard spells, say those 2 spells are booming blade, does the booming blade movement damage double?
According to limit of Combining Magical Effects the effects of the same spell cast multiple times don't combine, however. Instead, the most potent effect--such as the highest bonus--from those castings applies while their durations overlap, or the most recent effect applies if the castings are equally potent and their durations overlap.