During my last session I used Disguise Self. When I tried to end it, my DM said I couldn’t do that. We are using 2024 rules and, according to RAW, he is right. Once you cast the spell, it lasts one hour. It is not a concentration spell so I can’t just drop the concentration. I argued that the 2014 version of Disguise Self explicitly said you could use your action to end it, and it would be weird that is not possible now. So… RAW, it’s not possible. But what about RAI? What do you think about it?
Time Span. A duration that provides a time span specifies how long the spell lasts in rounds, minutes, hours, or the like. For example, a Duration entry might say “1 minute,” meaning the spell ends after 1 minute has passed. While a time-span spell that you cast is ongoing, you can dismiss it (no action required) if you don’t have the Incapacitated condition.
Thank you! We were so confused about it. I’m assuming this is something new in 2024 as a way to simplify durations, instead of specifically telling in every spell’s description that you can end it. Now we know.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
During my last session I used Disguise Self. When I tried to end it, my DM said I couldn’t do that. We are using 2024 rules and, according to RAW, he is right. Once you cast the spell, it lasts one hour. It is not a concentration spell so I can’t just drop the concentration.
I argued that the 2014 version of Disguise Self explicitly said you could use your action to end it, and it would be weird that is not possible now.
So… RAW, it’s not possible. But what about RAI? What do you think about it?
It's in the Spells chapter:
Thank you! We were so confused about it. I’m assuming this is something new in 2024 as a way to simplify durations, instead of specifically telling in every spell’s description that you can end it. Now we know.