X/Day abilities do not use Spell Slots. They'd be called Spell Slots if they were Spell Slots, the way that similar monsters did in the 2014 Monster Manual.
As such, you won't be breaking rules if the Cultist Fanatic casts Command and Spiritual Weapon in the same turn.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
🎵I'm on top of the world, looking down on creation, wreaking death and devastation with my mind.
As the power that I've found erupts freely from the ground, I will cackle from the top of the world.🎵
Monsters aren't always following the same design paradigm, for example, an NPC Mage can use Reaction to cast Counterspell or Shield on their turn even if they already did cast a spell using a spell slot because their unique abilities don't rely on them.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I looked around and could not find if when a monster has spells they can cast X/Day do those count for the One Spell with a Spell Slot per Turn rule.
Can a Cultist Fanatic (2024) cast command as an magic action then Spiritual Weapon as a bonus action?
I can't find anywhere in the rules it says it does but from the spirit of the rules it seems they shouldn't be able to.
If anyone can show me a rule or a clarification I would appreciate it.
X/Day abilities do not use Spell Slots. They'd be called Spell Slots if they were Spell Slots, the way that similar monsters did in the 2014 Monster Manual.
As such, you won't be breaking rules if the Cultist Fanatic casts Command and Spiritual Weapon in the same turn.
🎵I'm on top of the world, looking down on creation, wreaking death and devastation with my mind.
As the power that I've found erupts freely from the ground, I will cackle from the top of the world.🎵
Charisma Saving Throw: DC 18, Failure: 20d6 Psychic Damage, Success: Half damage
I agree. I remembered this good example from @Plaguescarred: