I'm currently working on the concept of a new character and i stumbled into some kind of possible combo.
Basically, the character concept is a Barbarian who would multiclass as a Warlock with Path of The Blade.
As such, the character could have extra attack from Barbarian AND Thirsting Blade from Warlock. Thirsting Blade specify that "You can attack with your pact weapon twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn."
How would it interact ?
Would it be 2 attacks max and thus i should not not pick Thirsting Blade ?
Would it be just counted as a bonus attack so 3 total ?
Or a plain bonus attack on each attack so 4 attacks in total ?
I guess it would ultimately depends on the DM interpretation of the rules but I'm still interested by this question. :p
From the Multiclassing ruling, Extra Attack and Thirsting Blade do not stack:
If you gain the Extra Attack class feature from more than one class, the features don't add together. You can't make more than two attacks with this feature unless it says you do (as the fighter's version of Extra Attack does). Similarly, the warlock's eldritch invocation Thirsting Blade doesn't give you additional attacks if you also have Extra Attack.
They worded Extra Attack & Thirsting Blade carefully to avoid this combo. They don't say "you can attack one extra time", they say "you can attack twice", or for Fighters "three times" or "four times". It's kinda like Armor Class calculations, these features set a new baseline, they don't offer a bonus.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hello.
I'm currently working on the concept of a new character and i stumbled into some kind of possible combo.
Basically, the character concept is a Barbarian who would multiclass as a Warlock with Path of The Blade.
As such, the character could have extra attack from Barbarian AND Thirsting Blade from Warlock. Thirsting Blade specify that "You can attack with your pact weapon twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn."
How would it interact ?
I guess it would ultimately depends on the DM interpretation of the rules but I'm still interested by this question. :p
From the Multiclassing ruling, Extra Attack and Thirsting Blade do not stack:
Arf... That's what i feared.
Too bad. Guess i'll have to pick something else instead then...
Thanks !
They worded Extra Attack & Thirsting Blade carefully to avoid this combo. They don't say "you can attack one extra time", they say "you can attack twice", or for Fighters "three times" or "four times". It's kinda like Armor Class calculations, these features set a new baseline, they don't offer a bonus.