Can you cast a readied spell, wild shape, move and release it when the trigger occurs?
I think I'd have to say that it works (not sure if it is intended to though). The spell isn't cast while in wildshape and the rules allow you to concentrate and take reactions while in wildshape so I see nothing blocking it.
Can you cast a readied spell, wild shape, move and release it when the trigger occurs?
Per RAW probably -- technically a readied spell is cast when you ready it so doing so doesn't violate the rules for not casting spells while wild shaped, though it doesn't seem to be possible to keep a spell readied for more than one round so the utility is pretty limited. However, I would check with the DM before trying to actually do this in a game.
The change to ready a spell indicates you cast the spell than wait on releasing so the spell is already cast just not released.
There's no change between editions regarding this rule:
2014:
When you ready a spell, you cast it as normal but hold its energy, which you release with your reaction when the trigger occurs. To be readied, a spell must have a casting time of 1 action, and holding onto the spell’s magic requires concentration (explained in chapter 10). If your concentration is broken, the spell dissipates without taking effect. For example, if you are concentrating on the web spell and ready magic missile, your web spell ends, and if you take damage before you release magic missile with your reaction, your concentration might be broken.
2024:
When you Ready a spell, you cast it as normal (expending any resources used to cast it) but hold its energy, which you release with your Reaction when the trigger occurs. To be readied, a spell must have a casting time of an action, and holding on to the spell’s magic requires Concentration, which you can maintain up to the start of your next turn. If your Concentration is broken, the spell dissipates without taking effect.
And I'd say the answer to the OP's question is yes.
I stand corrected. I suppose it’d be a pretty situational case where it’s worth holding it like that over just casting before transforming
I don't think this is as situational as you think. If you're surrounded, you can ready a spell, wild shape into an owl to get away and release the spell. That way you aren't hitting yourself with your spell. There are a few other wildshapes that don't provoke opportunity attacks too, like the deer. You can also do this with any wildshape form with a higher speed than you to get into range for your spell like the owl and deer mentioned above. By readying the spell first, then wildshaping, you can essentially dash and disengage while casting a spell and wildshaping at the cost of your reaction.
I stand corrected. I suppose it’d be a pretty situational case where it’s worth holding it like that over just casting before transforming
I don't think this is as situational as you think. If you're surrounded, you can ready a spell, wild shape into an owl to get away and release the spell. That way you aren't hitting yourself with your spell. There are a few other wildshapes that don't provoke opportunity attacks too, like the deer. You can also do this with any wildshape form with a higher speed than you to get into range for your spell like the owl and deer mentioned above. By readying the spell first, then wildshaping, you can essentially dash and disengage while casting a spell and wildshaping at the cost of your reaction.
Possibly, though you might be stretching the RAI of Ready to try and pull that off, particularly if you're trying to ensure you spell goes off before you have to worry about Concentration. Plus by the time you're stuck in melee you're likely to have other party members near the enemies as well, so there's a risk of friendly fire with an AoE. Could it hypothetically come up? Sure. Is this something you can really plan around with the expectation you'll be able to make it work on more than an infrequent basis? Probably not, based on my experience with combat encounters.
Possibly, though you might be stretching the RAI of Ready to try and pull that off, particularly if you're trying to ensure you spell goes off before you have to worry about Concentration. Plus by the time you're stuck in melee you're likely to have other party members near the enemies as well, so there's a risk of friendly fire with an AoE. Could it hypothetically come up? Sure. Is this something you can really plan around with the expectation you'll be able to make it work on more than an infrequent basis? Probably not, based on my experience with combat encounters.
I don't think that using this tech to get into range to use a spell would be that uncommon of a use, though I may be bias by usually playing on large maps. Even in high level campaigns I've found that 30ft of extra movement on the first turn can allow you to get your big control spell right where you want it. I can also see this being really useful for stopping a fleeing enemy from getting away.
Can you cast a readied spell, wild shape, move and release it when the trigger occurs?
Generally speaking, no. You lose the ability to cast spells when you Wildshape, although there’s a few features that could modify this.
The change to ready a spell indicates you cast the spell than wait on releasing so the spell is already cast just not released.
I think I'd have to say that it works (not sure if it is intended to though). The spell isn't cast while in wildshape and the rules allow you to concentrate and take reactions while in wildshape so I see nothing blocking it.
Per RAW probably -- technically a readied spell is cast when you ready it so doing so doesn't violate the rules for not casting spells while wild shaped, though it doesn't seem to be possible to keep a spell readied for more than one round so the utility is pretty limited. However, I would check with the DM before trying to actually do this in a game.
There's no change between editions regarding this rule:
2014:
2024:
And I'd say the answer to the OP's question is yes.
I stand corrected. I suppose it’d be a pretty situational case where it’s worth holding it like that over just casting before transforming
I don't think this is as situational as you think. If you're surrounded, you can ready a spell, wild shape into an owl to get away and release the spell. That way you aren't hitting yourself with your spell. There are a few other wildshapes that don't provoke opportunity attacks too, like the deer. You can also do this with any wildshape form with a higher speed than you to get into range for your spell like the owl and deer mentioned above. By readying the spell first, then wildshaping, you can essentially dash and disengage while casting a spell and wildshaping at the cost of your reaction.
Possibly, though you might be stretching the RAI of Ready to try and pull that off, particularly if you're trying to ensure you spell goes off before you have to worry about Concentration. Plus by the time you're stuck in melee you're likely to have other party members near the enemies as well, so there's a risk of friendly fire with an AoE. Could it hypothetically come up? Sure. Is this something you can really plan around with the expectation you'll be able to make it work on more than an infrequent basis? Probably not, based on my experience with combat encounters.
I don't think that using this tech to get into range to use a spell would be that uncommon of a use, though I may be bias by usually playing on large maps. Even in high level campaigns I've found that 30ft of extra movement on the first turn can allow you to get your big control spell right where you want it. I can also see this being really useful for stopping a fleeing enemy from getting away.
I don't see a reason why a Druid couldn't release a Ready spell while Wildshaped.