Yo! so iv been looking around an i couldnt find anything in the spell or rules for this saying it couldnt work. but could you cast TP on a creature say its a CR 1/4 and turn it into an object? leave it for an hour and boom its forever (until dispelled) then could you cast it again later turning said object into a creature using the CR 9 or lower range?
Yo! so iv been looking around an i couldnt find anything in the spell or rules for this saying it couldnt work. but could you cast TP on a creature say its a CR 1/4 and turn it into an object? leave it for an hour and boom its forever (until dispelled) then could you cast it again later turning said object into a creature using the CR 9 or lower range?
Where this gets tricky is the rule from the Player's Handbook about "combining spell effects", which says that the effects of the same spell cast multiple times don't combine. The DM would have to decide which casting of True Polymorph had "the most potent effect", and that's the one that would "win" and take effect going forward.
Yo! so iv been looking around an i couldnt find anything in the spell or rules for this saying it couldnt work. but could you cast TP on a creature say its a CR 1/4 and turn it into an object? leave it for an hour and boom its forever (until dispelled) then could you cast it again later turning said object into a creature using the CR 9 or lower range?
Where this gets tricky is the rule from the Player's Handbook about "combining spell effects", which says that the effects of the same spell cast multiple times don't combine. The DM would have to decide which casting of True Polymorph had "the most potent effect", and that's the one that would "win" and take effect going forward.
Adding on to this: Due to that rule, the new casting would probably use the creature's base CR if it overtook the old casting; if it doesn't, it would do absolutely nothing because you're using an invalid target.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Yo! so iv been looking around an i couldnt find anything in the spell or rules for this saying it couldnt work. but could you cast TP on a creature say its a CR 1/4 and turn it into an object? leave it for an hour and boom its forever (until dispelled) then could you cast it again later turning said object into a creature using the CR 9 or lower range?
Where this gets tricky is the rule from the Player's Handbook about "combining spell effects", which says that the effects of the same spell cast multiple times don't combine. The DM would have to decide which casting of True Polymorph had "the most potent effect", and that's the one that would "win" and take effect going forward.
pronouns: he/she/they
Adding on to this: Due to that rule, the new casting would probably use the creature's base CR if it overtook the old casting; if it doesn't, it would do absolutely nothing because you're using an invalid target.