The phrasing of this channel divinity ability has me a little curious.
for those who haven't read it the important part is "As an action, you can move up to your speed, without provoking opportunity attacks, and when you move within 5 feet of any other creature during this action,"
my question is would you rule that taking this action essentially gives you a dash action? As the phrasing leads me to believe taking the action is what makes you move.
tldr; does balm of peace essentially double your movement for the duration of the action? How would you rule it.
Yes, it is in effect a dash plus other effects during that movement. You do effectively have double movement for that turn, but the additional effects apply only for the patch of movement given by Balm of Peace. That is to say with 30ft normal movement you can't use the Balm, heal someone 5ft away, then move for 50ft and heal someone else. Only during the declared 30ft of balm movement can you heal and avoid AoOs.
Also the Balm is not actually the Dash Action, so any other game effects which trigger off that action do not apply.
The phrasing of this channel divinity ability has me a little curious.
for those who haven't read it the important part is "As an action, you can move up to your speed, without provoking opportunity attacks, and when you move within 5 feet of any other creature during this action,"
my question is would you rule that taking this action essentially gives you a dash action? As the phrasing leads me to believe taking the action is what makes you move.
tldr; does balm of peace essentially double your movement for the duration of the action? How would you rule it.
While yu can effectively move up to twice your speed in a turn using Balm of Peace and your move, this action has nothing to do with the Dash action. There is an important distinction between the two, one action makes you move among other things, the other give you extra movement, while not actually moving whatsoever.
Hello. If I have 30ft speed and Expeditious Retreat cast on Self -> Bonus Action Dash -> Use Balm of Peace, do I move 30 or 60ft as part of that action? Does Dash increase my speed to 60ft or does it grant me 30 movement?
Trying to build a highly mobile and Versatile, pacifist Peace Cleric with Clockwork Sorcerer dip for low Tier play :)
Hello. If I have 30ft speed and Expeditious Retreat cast on Self -> Bonus Action Dash -> Use Balm of Peace, do I move 30 or 60ft as part of that action? Does Dash increase my speed to 60ft or does it grant me 30 movement?
Trying to build a highly mobile and Versatile, pacifist Peace Cleric with Clockwork Sorcerer dip for low Tier play :)
Dash just lets you use your movement again, not double it. So you could move 30 feet, dash 30 more feet, and balm to move 30 more. 90 total.
Notably, tabaxi's feline agility lets you double speed, which would make each movement 60 feet, for 180 total. haste also doubles your speed and gives you an additional action to dash with, 120 feet each movement, 480 total. Boots of speed also doubles speed, 970 feet total.
This is actually wrong now with the new rules in place. Every action (Move/Bonus/Magic/Attack etc.) is it's own instance, so using balm of peace only relates to your base move speed. Anything that boosts that speed will allow you to move further, but any type of action taken before or after will not add to the movement of balm of peace.
Ex. Expeditious Retreat forces you to use a Dash as your bonus action and gives you a SECOND use of dash as an ADDITIONAL bonus action, but none of these affect your ACTION which is the use of Balm of peace. So you can use Expeditious Retreat to move 60 ft. then use your ACTION to move an additional 30ft without provoking attacks of opportunity and CHOOSE to heal any creature within 5 ft of any space you move past or end in.
Boots of speed will allow you to double your base speed allowing you to make this action at 60 ft. As for haste you are still forced to wait one round before using Balm of peace since your second ACTION is restricted to Attack (one attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Utilize actions but it does allow you to move twice your base move speed. So the combination of haste with boots of speed will allow you to move at a further distance since both do not require you to move as any type of action and affect all use of movement.
This is actually wrong now with the new rules in place. Every action (Move/Bonus/Magic/Attack etc.) is it's own instance, so using balm of peace only relates to your base move speed. Anything that boosts that speed will allow you to move further, but any type of action taken before or after will not add to the movement of balm of peace.
Ex. Expeditious Retreat forces you to use a Dash as your bonus action and gives you a SECOND use of dash as an ADDITIONAL bonus action, but none of these affect your ACTION which is the use of Balm of peace. So you can use Expeditious Retreat to move 60 ft. then use your ACTION to move an additional 30ft without provoking attacks of opportunity and CHOOSE to heal any creature within 5 ft of any space you move past or end in.
Boots of speed will allow you to double your base speed allowing you to make this action at 60 ft. As for haste you are still forced to wait one round before using Balm of peace since your second ACTION is restricted to Attack (one attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Utilize actions but it does allow you to move twice your base move speed. So the combination of haste with boots of speed will allow you to move at a further distance since both do not require you to move as any type of action and affect all use of movement.
You mentioned that this is wrong now and linked to the 2024 version of Boots of Speed and 2014 version of Haste (the 2024 version of Haste is mostly the same). In both cases, Haste can be cast by someone else so the target doesn't necessarily need to wait for their second turn. Most likely the Peace Domain Cleric is not able to cast Haste.
That said, I don't see anything that you mentioned that is different in 2024.
Balm of Peace is not restricted to your Base Speed; it uses your current speed. Any effects that reduce or increase your speed modify the movement during Balm of Peace equally. If you take an action that increases your speed with a duration greater than the action itself, it affects Balm of Peace as well. For example, activating Boots of Speed requires a Bonus Action. Following that with Balm of Peace would use the doubled speed.
What is wrong is the math and how it relates to your uses of action and the uses of bonus actions, anything that requires you to move during your bonus action isn't an addition to your action.
Although the math is correct and the movement total is correct, the action of Balm of Peace can only use a portion of that movement and the rest is restricted to separate actions. Dash is a bonus action and it's movement isn't added to your action of Balm of Peace. Or more accurately they are not concurrent (happening at the same time).
I'm just trying to point out that the previous post is assuming you can move practically all around a map healing whatever you want, when in reality it isn't as much as you think it is.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
The phrasing of this channel divinity ability has me a little curious.
for those who haven't read it the important part is "As an action, you can move up to your speed, without provoking opportunity attacks, and when you move within 5 feet of any other creature during this action,"
my question is would you rule that taking this action essentially gives you a dash action? As the phrasing leads me to believe taking the action is what makes you move.
tldr; does balm of peace essentially double your movement for the duration of the action? How would you rule it.
Yes, it is in effect a dash plus other effects during that movement. You do effectively have double movement for that turn, but the additional effects apply only for the patch of movement given by Balm of Peace. That is to say with 30ft normal movement you can't use the Balm, heal someone 5ft away, then move for 50ft and heal someone else. Only during the declared 30ft of balm movement can you heal and avoid AoOs.
Also the Balm is not actually the Dash Action, so any other game effects which trigger off that action do not apply.
Hmm, if you are prone and get up with half speed, how much can you move in this scenario? 30 feet? 45 feet?
While yu can effectively move up to twice your speed in a turn using Balm of Peace and your move, this action has nothing to do with the Dash action. There is an important distinction between the two, one action makes you move among other things, the other give you extra movement, while not actually moving whatsoever.
If you have 30 feet speed and stand up, it would cost you 15 feet of movement and thus;
1) Taking the Dash action would give you 30 feet of extra movement and have 45 feet of movement left to take.
2) Taking Balm of Peace action would let you move up to 30 feet among other things, after which you'd have 15 feet of movement left to take.
Hello.
If I have 30ft speed and Expeditious Retreat cast on Self -> Bonus Action Dash -> Use Balm of Peace, do I move 30 or 60ft as part of that action? Does Dash increase my speed to 60ft or does it grant me 30 movement?
Trying to build a highly mobile and Versatile, pacifist Peace Cleric with Clockwork Sorcerer dip for low Tier play :)
Dash just lets you use your movement again, not double it. So you could move 30 feet, dash 30 more feet, and balm to move 30 more. 90 total.
Notably, tabaxi's feline agility lets you double speed, which would make each movement 60 feet, for 180 total. haste also doubles your speed and gives you an additional action to dash with, 120 feet each movement, 480 total. Boots of speed also doubles speed, 970 feet total.
This is actually wrong now with the new rules in place. Every action (Move/Bonus/Magic/Attack etc.) is it's own instance, so using balm of peace only relates to your base move speed. Anything that boosts that speed will allow you to move further, but any type of action taken before or after will not add to the movement of balm of peace.
Ex. Expeditious Retreat forces you to use a Dash as your bonus action and gives you a SECOND use of dash as an ADDITIONAL bonus action, but none of these affect your ACTION which is the use of Balm of peace. So you can use Expeditious Retreat to move 60 ft. then use your ACTION to move an additional 30ft without provoking attacks of opportunity and CHOOSE to heal any creature within 5 ft of any space you move past or end in.
Boots of speed will allow you to double your base speed allowing you to make this action at 60 ft. As for haste you are still forced to wait one round before using Balm of peace since your second ACTION is restricted to Attack (one attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Utilize actions but it does allow you to move twice your base move speed. So the combination of haste with boots of speed will allow you to move at a further distance since both do not require you to move as any type of action and affect all use of movement.
You mentioned that this is wrong now and linked to the 2024 version of Boots of Speed and 2014 version of Haste (the 2024 version of Haste is mostly the same). In both cases, Haste can be cast by someone else so the target doesn't necessarily need to wait for their second turn. Most likely the Peace Domain Cleric is not able to cast Haste.
That said, I don't see anything that you mentioned that is different in 2024.
Balm of Peace is not restricted to your Base Speed; it uses your current speed. Any effects that reduce or increase your speed modify the movement during Balm of Peace equally. If you take an action that increases your speed with a duration greater than the action itself, it affects Balm of Peace as well. For example, activating Boots of Speed requires a Bonus Action. Following that with Balm of Peace would use the doubled speed.
How to add Tooltips.
What is wrong is the math and how it relates to your uses of action and the uses of bonus actions, anything that requires you to move during your bonus action isn't an addition to your action.
Although the math is correct and the movement total is correct, the action of Balm of Peace can only use a portion of that movement and the rest is restricted to separate actions. Dash is a bonus action and it's movement isn't added to your action of Balm of Peace. Or more accurately they are not concurrent (happening at the same time).
I'm just trying to point out that the previous post is assuming you can move practically all around a map healing whatever you want, when in reality it isn't as much as you think it is.