I’m still a little confused about using a Ring of Spell Storing for a Warlock. For example, a Warlock is level 5, thus casts spells at 3rd level spell slots. Can a Warlock, store 5 first level spells into the ring and cast them as 3rd level spells? Or must the 1st level spell be stored as a 3rd level in the ring? Or can the Warlock cast a spell from the ring that is lower than his 3rd level cast trait?
I’m still a little confused about using a Ring of Spell Storing for a Warlock. For example, a Warlock is level 5, thus casts spells at 3rd level spell slots. Can a Warlock, store 5 first level spells into the ring and cast them as 3rd level spells? Or must the 1st level spell be stored as a 3rd level in the ring? Or can the Warlock cast a spell from the ring that is lower than his 3rd level cast trait?
This hypothetical Warlock would not be able to put five 1st-level spells into the ring, because you have to actually cast the spell to store it in the ring, and a level 5 Warlock is not capable of casting a Warlock spell at 1st level, because they don't have any 1st-level spell slots. In this situation they would only be able to put a single spell into the ring, cast at 3rd level (either an actual 3rd-level spell, or an upcast 1st- or 2nd-level spell). Since the ring can only hold five levels' worth of spells, the Warlock couldn't put a second 3rd-level spell into the ring.
That said, there are lots of ways to be able to cast spells that don't use a spell slot at all, and you can use these to fuel the ring as well. Feats like Magic Initiate and Fey Touched provide 1st-level spells that can be cast without a slot, as do some species like Elves and Tieflings. When cast without a spell slot, spells are cast at their minimum level, so if your Warlock had any of these features they could store lower-level spells in the ring that way.
I’m still a little confused about using a Ring of Spell Storing for a Warlock. For example, a Warlock is level 5, thus casts spells at 3rd level spell slots. Can a Warlock, store 5 first level spells into the ring and cast them as 3rd level spells? Or must the 1st level spell be stored as a 3rd level in the ring? Or can the Warlock cast a spell from the ring that is lower than his 3rd level cast trait?
This hypothetical Warlock would not be able to put five 1st-level spells into the ring, because you have to actually cast the spell to store it in the ring, and a level 5 Warlock is not capable of casting a Warlock spell at 1st level, because they don't have any 1st-level spell slots. In this situation they would only be able to put a single spell into the ring, cast at 3rd level (either an actual 3rd-level spell, or an upcast 1st- or 2nd-level spell). Since the ring can only hold five levels' worth of spells, the Warlock couldn't put a second 3rd-level spell into the ring.
That said, there are lots of ways to be able to cast spells that don't use a spell slot at all, and you can use these to fuel the ring as well. Feats like Magic Initiate and Fey Touched provide 1st-level spells that can be cast without a slot, as do some species like Elves and Tieflings. When cast without a spell slot, spells are cast at their minimum level, so if your Warlock had any of these features they could store lower-level spells in the ring that way.
Thanks! That makes sense. Also, I’m assuming a friendly wizard or sorcerer could cast 1st or 2nd levels into the ring, and the Warlock could cast those at his 3rd level spell casting ability, correct?
I’m still a little confused about using a Ring of Spell Storing for a Warlock. For example, a Warlock is level 5, thus casts spells at 3rd level spell slots. Can a Warlock, store 5 first level spells into the ring and cast them as 3rd level spells? Or must the 1st level spell be stored as a 3rd level in the ring? Or can the Warlock cast a spell from the ring that is lower than his 3rd level cast trait?
This hypothetical Warlock would not be able to put five 1st-level spells into the ring, because you have to actually cast the spell to store it in the ring, and a level 5 Warlock is not capable of casting a Warlock spell at 1st level, because they don't have any 1st-level spell slots. In this situation they would only be able to put a single spell into the ring, cast at 3rd level (either an actual 3rd-level spell, or an upcast 1st- or 2nd-level spell). Since the ring can only hold five levels' worth of spells, the Warlock couldn't put a second 3rd-level spell into the ring.
That said, there are lots of ways to be able to cast spells that don't use a spell slot at all, and you can use these to fuel the ring as well. Feats like Magic Initiate and Fey Touched provide 1st-level spells that can be cast without a slot, as do some species like Elves and Tieflings. When cast without a spell slot, spells are cast at their minimum level, so if your Warlock had any of these features they could store lower-level spells in the ring that way.
Thanks! That makes sense. Also, I’m assuming a friendly wizard or sorcerer could cast 1st or 2nd levels into the ring, and the Warlock could cast those at his 3rd level spell casting ability, correct?
No, it doesn't work that way — the item description says that when you use a spell that's stored in the ring, it "uses the slot level, spell save DC, spell attack bonus, and spellcasting ability of the original caster". So while another character (not necessarily just a wizard or sorcerer, anyone who can cast a leveled spell) could put spells into it, when the Warlock uses the ring to cast those stored spells, they remain at the level they were originally cast at.
The level of a Warlock's (or anyone's) spell slots only matter when they're actually using those slots to cast a spell.
Ok, I see now. What’s cast into it is what casts out of it. A 1st level spell cast into it is then cast out at 1st level. Got it. Thanks so much. And I like the Fey Touched feat example.
Ok, I see now. What’s cast into it is what casts out of it. A 1st level spell cast into it is then cast out at 1st level. Got it. Thanks so much. And I like the Fey Touched feat example.
That said, there are lots of ways to be able to cast spells that don't use a spell slot at all, and you can use these to fuel the ring as well. Feats like Magic Initiate and Fey Touched provide 1st-level spells that can be cast without a slot, as do some species like Elves and Tieflings. When cast without a spell slot, spells are cast at their minimum level, so if your Warlock had any of these features they could store lower-level spells in the ring that way.
I thought it wasn't possible to insert spells without spell slots into the Ring, including Rituals.
The item description says:
[...] The level of the slot used to cast the spell determines how much space it uses.
We have also this conversation from the Dev (not official ruling; link here):
@armando_doval can you cast a spell into a Ring of Spell Storing without expending a slot? Description seems to assume slot is used. @JeremyECrawford Casting a spell into a ring of spell storing does require a spell slot.
@Panoramic_Panda Can you cast a spell into a Ring of Spell Storing from a wand? @JeremyECrawford It requires a spell slot. A wand doesn't expend a spell slot.
@theactualevan I guess ritual casting into a spell storing item is out too, then? @JeremyECrawford Correct.
I’m still a little confused about using a Ring of Spell Storing for a Warlock. For example, a Warlock is level 5, thus casts spells at 3rd level spell slots. Can a Warlock, store 5 first level spells into the ring and cast them as 3rd level spells? Or must the 1st level spell be stored as a 3rd level in the ring? Or can the Warlock cast a spell from the ring that is lower than his 3rd level cast trait?
This hypothetical Warlock would not be able to put five 1st-level spells into the ring, because you have to actually cast the spell to store it in the ring, and a level 5 Warlock is not capable of casting a Warlock spell at 1st level, because they don't have any 1st-level spell slots. In this situation they would only be able to put a single spell into the ring, cast at 3rd level (either an actual 3rd-level spell, or an upcast 1st- or 2nd-level spell). Since the ring can only hold five levels' worth of spells, the Warlock couldn't put a second 3rd-level spell into the ring.
That said, there are lots of ways to be able to cast spells that don't use a spell slot at all, and you can use these to fuel the ring as well. Feats like Magic Initiate and Fey Touched provide 1st-level spells that can be cast without a slot, as do some species like Elves and Tieflings. When cast without a spell slot, spells are cast at their minimum level, so if your Warlock had any of these features they could store lower-level spells in the ring that way.
pronouns: he/she/they
Thanks! That makes sense. Also, I’m assuming a friendly wizard or sorcerer could cast 1st or 2nd levels into the ring, and the Warlock could cast those at his 3rd level spell casting ability, correct?
No, it doesn't work that way — the item description says that when you use a spell that's stored in the ring, it "uses the slot level, spell save DC, spell attack bonus, and spellcasting ability of the original caster". So while another character (not necessarily just a wizard or sorcerer, anyone who can cast a leveled spell) could put spells into it, when the Warlock uses the ring to cast those stored spells, they remain at the level they were originally cast at.
The level of a Warlock's (or anyone's) spell slots only matter when they're actually using those slots to cast a spell.
pronouns: he/she/they
Ok, I see now. What’s cast into it is what casts out of it. A 1st level spell cast into it is then cast out at 1st level. Got it. Thanks so much. And I like the Fey Touched feat example.
Yup, that's it exactly. Happy to help.
pronouns: he/she/they
I thought it wasn't possible to insert spells without spell slots into the Ring, including Rituals.
The item description says:
We have also this conversation from the Dev (not official ruling; link here):
Ah, you’re right, I missed that part. I think it’s probably something I’d still allow if I were DMing, but yeah, not allowed under RAW.
pronouns: he/she/they
You know, the description of this magic item isn't exactly stellar anyway, since others have had the same doubt (including me!)
Concur. And understood on RAW.