Ok, so I currently have a warlocks character that, once fully fleshed out will be a dual wielding maniac. My question is: I understand how the warlock enters a contract with their paron in order to gain their powers, but nothing specifically states that two warlocks make contracts with the exact same patron. I.e. if they both have the great old one, one payron might actually be a different entity than the other, right? If so, aside from the concept of multiclassing into the same class, what according to the rules, prevents a character from entering into multiple contracts if the situation arises?
I ask because for flavor (and a bit of power I guess) I want both my weapons to be my Hexblade.
The details around a Warlock Pact are really pure flavor. The Warlock is a class and the Patron is a subclass. The entity you are bonded with has no actual in game effect beyond what you and the DM dream up together. You can imagine yourself a Warlock sworn to a hundred sentient Hexblades if you like, you are still a regular Hexblade Warlock. That means you don't ever get two Pact Weapons. Also, if you happen to locate a sentient weapon, the game rules don't care whether that weapon is one of your Patron Entities or not. You will be able to dial wield using your pact blade plus any other weapon you are proficient with that you touch with your Hex Warrior feature, and both weapons will use your charisma. Nothing else you do with a thousand different pacts is ever going to grant you additional power unless the DM agrees to reward you with that power boost.
Yeah, that's pretty much how I see it as well. The idea really is that the character would be able to summon both weapons from nowhere and thus wouldn't ever need to be seen carrying a weapon unless in combat. Hence why it's mostly for flavor, but I also understand the fact that that comes with a bit of a power boost in that I'd never be limited to 1 weapon if stripped of my gear.
Be aware that the Pact Weapon takes a whole action to summon, so it's generally safer to keep it summoned and sheathed for easy use. That being said, a reasonable DM should have no issue allowing you to dismiss a bonded Hex Warrior weapon off to the same plane as your Pact Weapon, but at the same cost to retrieve. Perhaps ask the DM to help you try and retrieve some minor magic items that would give your character the desired abilities. A pair of minor dimensional rings that conceal your weapons and let both be summoned as a bonus action perhaps. The power boost is negligible there, and losing the rings could cause an issue for you later.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Ok, so I currently have a warlocks character that, once fully fleshed out will be a dual wielding maniac. My question is: I understand how the warlock enters a contract with their paron in order to gain their powers, but nothing specifically states that two warlocks make contracts with the exact same patron. I.e. if they both have the great old one, one payron might actually be a different entity than the other, right? If so, aside from the concept of multiclassing into the same class, what according to the rules, prevents a character from entering into multiple contracts if the situation arises?
I ask because for flavor (and a bit of power I guess) I want both my weapons to be my Hexblade.
The details around a Warlock Pact are really pure flavor. The Warlock is a class and the Patron is a subclass. The entity you are bonded with has no actual in game effect beyond what you and the DM dream up together. You can imagine yourself a Warlock sworn to a hundred sentient Hexblades if you like, you are still a regular Hexblade Warlock. That means you don't ever get two Pact Weapons. Also, if you happen to locate a sentient weapon, the game rules don't care whether that weapon is one of your Patron Entities or not. You will be able to dial wield using your pact blade plus any other weapon you are proficient with that you touch with your Hex Warrior feature, and both weapons will use your charisma. Nothing else you do with a thousand different pacts is ever going to grant you additional power unless the DM agrees to reward you with that power boost.
Yeah, that's pretty much how I see it as well. The idea really is that the character would be able to summon both weapons from nowhere and thus wouldn't ever need to be seen carrying a weapon unless in combat. Hence why it's mostly for flavor, but I also understand the fact that that comes with a bit of a power boost in that I'd never be limited to 1 weapon if stripped of my gear.
Be aware that the Pact Weapon takes a whole action to summon, so it's generally safer to keep it summoned and sheathed for easy use. That being said, a reasonable DM should have no issue allowing you to dismiss a bonded Hex Warrior weapon off to the same plane as your Pact Weapon, but at the same cost to retrieve. Perhaps ask the DM to help you try and retrieve some minor magic items that would give your character the desired abilities. A pair of minor dimensional rings that conceal your weapons and let both be summoned as a bonus action perhaps. The power boost is negligible there, and losing the rings could cause an issue for you later.