I looked through the combat section in chapter 1 of the 2024 PHB and the the Rules Glossary, and I can't find any reference to rolling a Nat 1 on an attack roll causing it to automatically miss regardless of AC like in 2014.
Am I missing it somewhere, or was it omitted? Can a creature with a +5 to hit always hit a Gelatinous Cube now even if they roll a Nat 1?
Here's the relevant quote under D20 Tests, page 12 (I believe) of the 2024 PHB
Rolling 20 or 1
If you roll a 20 on the d20 (called a “natural 20”) for an attack roll, the attack hits regardless of any modifiers or the target’s AC. This is called a Critical Hit (see “Combat” later in this chapter).
If you roll a 1 on the d20 (a “natural 1”) for an attack roll, the attack misses regardless of any modifiers or the target’s AC.
Thank you. I didn't think to look in the D20 Test section. I feel like this probably should have been reiterated in the Combat section or Rules Glossary since Critical hits are reiterated in those places, but I'm just glad I know where it is now.
Thank you. I didn't think to look in the D20 Test section. I feel like this probably should have been reiterated in the Combat section or Rules Glossary since Critical hits are reiterated in those places, but I'm just glad I know where it is now.
I find there is so much in the book not organized better. Sometimes you really do need to repeat information multiple times. It would make life so much easier.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I looked through the combat section in chapter 1 of the 2024 PHB and the the Rules Glossary, and I can't find any reference to rolling a Nat 1 on an attack roll causing it to automatically miss regardless of AC like in 2014.
Am I missing it somewhere, or was it omitted? Can a creature with a +5 to hit always hit a Gelatinous Cube now even if they roll a Nat 1?
Here's the relevant quote under D20 Tests, page 12 (I believe) of the 2024 PHB
Rolling 20 or 1
If you roll a 20 on the d20 (called a “natural 20”) for an attack roll, the attack hits regardless of any modifiers or the target’s AC. This is called a Critical Hit (see “Combat” later in this chapter).
If you roll a 1 on the d20 (a “natural 1”) for an attack roll, the attack misses regardless of any modifiers or the target’s AC.
Playing D&D since 1982
Have played every version of the game since Basic (Red Box Set), except that abomination sometimes called 4e.
Thank you. I didn't think to look in the D20 Test section. I feel like this probably should have been reiterated in the Combat section or Rules Glossary since Critical hits are reiterated in those places, but I'm just glad I know where it is now.
A "natural 1" is also mentioned in the Combat and Damage Example:
I find there is so much in the book not organized better. Sometimes you really do need to repeat information multiple times. It would make life so much easier.