1 - When you use an arcane focus, does it bypass all material components including the ones with cost requirements?
2 - Does the component pouch need to have the materials inside of it or does it magically summon up the materials required excluding ones with cost requirements?
If a spell doesn’t consume its materials and doesn’t specify a cost for them, a spellcaster can use a Component Pouch (see chapter 6) instead of providing the materials specified in the spell, or the spellcaster can substitute a Spellcasting Focus if the caster has a feature that allows that substitution.
2 - Does the component pouch need to have the materials inside of it or does it magically summon up the materials required excluding ones with cost requirements?
Typically it comes with all the free materials one might need. Some DM's/tables roleplay it as you replenishing it when in a town or similar place (maybe spend a few gold to do it but that's very optional).
Materials with a cost requirement is NOT covered by this.
Mechanically, the purpose of the component pouch over class-specific foci is twofold: first it covers M components for spells gained from feats or race features since foci only work for spells gained from class features, and second if you’ve multiclassed so you’d need multiple foci, the pouch can serve as a single wildcard instead rather than requiring you to juggle items depending on which spell you’re casting.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
1 - When you use an arcane focus, does it bypass all material components including the ones with cost requirements?
2 - Does the component pouch need to have the materials inside of it or does it magically summon up the materials required excluding ones with cost requirements?
(more questions may appear)
From the spellcasting rules.
Typically it comes with all the free materials one might need. Some DM's/tables roleplay it as you replenishing it when in a town or similar place (maybe spend a few gold to do it but that's very optional).
Materials with a cost requirement is NOT covered by this.
In addition to @Thezzaruz's answer, there's an entry in the Sage Advice Compendium about Spellcasting Components that might be helpful for the OP.
Mechanically, the purpose of the component pouch over class-specific foci is twofold: first it covers M components for spells gained from feats or race features since foci only work for spells gained from class features, and second if you’ve multiclassed so you’d need multiple foci, the pouch can serve as a single wildcard instead rather than requiring you to juggle items depending on which spell you’re casting.