So the Psychic Blade states Whenever you take the Attack action, you can manifest a psychic blade from your free hand and make the attack with that blade. So my theory is: if I use my attack action to attack with a one handed weapon, because I used an action, I can now manifest a Psychic Blade and attack with it and it will not trigger the bonus action attack because I don't have another free hand. I am wondering if this is even possible?
You can manifest your psionic power as shimmering blades of psychic energy. Whenever you take the Attack action, you can manifest a psychic blade from your free hand and make the attack with that blade.
You can manifest shimmering blades of psychic energy. Whenever you take the Attack action or make an Opportunity Attack, you can manifest a Psychic Blade in your free hand and make the attack with that blade.
In both cases, when talking about your action, manifesting the psychic blade is, by my reading, completely contingent on making "the attack with that blade." If you're not using the blade, it doesn't manifest, and that prevents you from using the Bonus Action Psychic blade attack, regardless of whether you have a free hand, because both versions of the Soulknife Rogue require "after you Attack with the [Psychic] blade" on your turn.
If you're a Soulknife under the 2024 rules who can, for whatever reason, make more than one attack on this turn, (Multiclassed for Extra Attack or Action Surge, Hasted, etc.) You can use your ability to draw or stow weapons using the Attack Action to get the physical one-handed weapon stowed and free up the hand, and as long as you take the Attack Action and make at least one Attack during that turn with the Psychic Blade, you can use the now-free hand to make the Bonus Action Psychic Blade attack afterwards.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
🎵I'm on top of the world, looking down on creation, wreaking death and devastation with my mind.
As the power that I've found erupts freely from the ground, I will cackle from the top of the world.🎵
One thing also of note, if you have the Dual Wielder feat and Extra Attack (say from Ranger Multiclass), you could on each of your turns draw two light weapons and attack with your main hand, attack with an offhand Nick weapon, then stow both weapons and attack with each of your psychic blades using your second attack and bonus action. This would allow you to wield two magic weapons and still use your psychic blades if you so chose.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So the Psychic Blade states Whenever you take the Attack action, you can manifest a psychic blade from your free hand and make the attack with that blade.
So my theory is: if I use my attack action to attack with a one handed weapon, because I used an action, I can now manifest a Psychic Blade and attack with it and it will not trigger the bonus action attack because I don't have another free hand.
I am wondering if this is even possible?
Tasha's Cauldron of Everything Legacy Soulknife:
2024 PHB Soulknife:
In both cases, when talking about your action, manifesting the psychic blade is, by my reading, completely contingent on making "the attack with that blade." If you're not using the blade, it doesn't manifest, and that prevents you from using the Bonus Action Psychic blade attack, regardless of whether you have a free hand, because both versions of the Soulknife Rogue require "after you Attack with the [Psychic] blade" on your turn.
If you're a Soulknife under the 2024 rules who can, for whatever reason, make more than one attack on this turn, (Multiclassed for Extra Attack or Action Surge, Hasted, etc.) You can use your ability to draw or stow weapons using the Attack Action to get the physical one-handed weapon stowed and free up the hand, and as long as you take the Attack Action and make at least one Attack during that turn with the Psychic Blade, you can use the now-free hand to make the Bonus Action Psychic Blade attack afterwards.
🎵I'm on top of the world, looking down on creation, wreaking death and devastation with my mind.
As the power that I've found erupts freely from the ground, I will cackle from the top of the world.🎵
Charisma Saving Throw: DC 18, Failure: 20d6 Psychic Damage, Success: Half damage
One thing also of note, if you have the Dual Wielder feat and Extra Attack (say from Ranger Multiclass), you could on each of your turns draw two light weapons and attack with your main hand, attack with an offhand Nick weapon, then stow both weapons and attack with each of your psychic blades using your second attack and bonus action. This would allow you to wield two magic weapons and still use your psychic blades if you so chose.