Random thought I had when I was playing around with a 12th Level Warlock I'm building.
I cast Mental Prison, and the creature failed the saving throw, meaning if they move out of their space, they would take 10d10 psychic damage.
The next turn, I cast Eldritch Blast (with the Repelling Blast Eldritch Invocation), and I crit on the attack roll - would the crit then transfer over to the psychic damage from Mental Prison as I use repelling blast to push the creature through the barrier of the spell?
No, the Mental Prison Damage does not crit, it comes from another source than the attack that hit critically. So, that would be Eldritch Blast crit-hit = 2d10 + modifieres force damage, then the target is pushed through the illusion and takes another 10d10 psychic damage.
It also works this way for secondary damages for things like Booming Blade and Green Flame Blade. The initial damage from the hit can crit, but the extra damage from either the target moving with BB or the spillover from GFB does not.
Random thought I had when I was playing around with a 12th Level Warlock I'm building.
I cast Mental Prison, and the creature failed the saving throw, meaning if they move out of their space, they would take 10d10 psychic damage.
The next turn, I cast Eldritch Blast (with the Repelling Blast Eldritch Invocation), and I crit on the attack roll - would the crit then transfer over to the psychic damage from Mental Prison as I use repelling blast to push the creature through the barrier of the spell?
No, the Mental Prison Damage does not crit, it comes from another source than the attack that hit critically. So, that would be Eldritch Blast crit-hit = 2d10 + modifieres force damage, then the target is pushed through the illusion and takes another 10d10 psychic damage.
Damaging effect hat are not bonus or extra damage or otherwise part of attack hitting is not subject to critical hit rules.
It also works this way for secondary damages for things like Booming Blade and Green Flame Blade. The initial damage from the hit can crit, but the extra damage from either the target moving with BB or the spillover from GFB does not.