Example: Cast summon dragon, concentration spell and on remain turns you can use a bonus action to give the commands. On your turns after you cast Summon Dragon, can you cast spells that do not require concentration? I've always been under the understanding that you can't have 2 concentration spells going at the same time, that the newer spell would cause the older one to end, but you could cast non-concentration spells while maintain the concentration spell.
Your understanding of it is correct. You can only have one Concentration spell running at a time, but this doesn't prevent you from casting other spells that don't require Concentration.
Also, keep in mind that your current concentration spell will end as soon as you begin casting another concentration spell, not when the spell takes effect. For example, are concentrating on Summon Dragon, and you start casting another concentration spell with a casting time longer than an action, say Control Weather, you concentration will end as soon as you begin casting the second spell.
This would also apply if you tried to cast any concentration spell and failed a saving throw against Counterspell. Not only would you fail to cast the second spell, your concentration on the first will have already been lost as well.
And if you ready the castingmagic action to cast a spell, even if it's not for a spell that requires concentration normally, that will end your concentration on your current spell while you wait for the trigger.
If you’re concentrating on a spell, your concentration on it ends immediately when you start casting another spell that requires concentration.
It's also in XGtE, p. 5:
Concentration. As soon as you start casting a spell or using a special ability that requires concentration, your concentration on another effect ends instantly.
[...] Another Concentration Effect. You lose Concentration on an effect the moment you start casting a spell that requires Concentration or activate another effect that requires Concentration. Damage. [...] Incapacitated or Dead. [...]
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Example: Cast summon dragon, concentration spell and on remain turns you can use a bonus action to give the commands. On your turns after you cast Summon Dragon, can you cast spells that do not require concentration? I've always been under the understanding that you can't have 2 concentration spells going at the same time, that the newer spell would cause the older one to end, but you could cast non-concentration spells while maintain the concentration spell.
Your understanding of it is correct. You can only have one Concentration spell running at a time, but this doesn't prevent you from casting other spells that don't require Concentration.
pronouns: he/she/they
Also, keep in mind that your current concentration spell will end as soon as you begin casting another concentration spell, not when the spell takes effect. For example, are concentrating on Summon Dragon, and you start casting another concentration spell with a casting time longer than an action, say Control Weather, you concentration will end as soon as you begin casting the second spell.
This would also apply if you tried to cast any concentration spell and failed a saving throw against Counterspell. Not only would you fail to cast the second spell, your concentration on the first will have already been lost as well.
And if you ready the
castingmagic action to cast a spell, even if it's not for a spell that requires concentration normally, that will end your concentration on your current spell while you wait for the trigger."Not all those who wander are lost"
Inspired by my own soul, here is my small contribution:
It's also in XGtE, p. 5:
And in the 2024 Rules Glossary: