On a turn, you can expend only one spell slot to cast a spell. This rule means you can’t, for example, cast a spell with a spell slot using the Magic action and another one using a Bonus Action on the same turn.
I am assuming that you are looking for the most recent information on Casting Spells, and not the information from the 2014 PHB.
There is definitely more up to date info than a Reddit thread from two years ago.
Specifically, the new 5e.24 Players Handbook that came out on September 17th 2024.
If you look in the new PHB, you can find the Casting Spells section.
Additionally, there are some questions that are not addressed in the new manuals and can find the answers in the Sage Advice Compendium.
Hope this helps!
Cheers :)
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Breathe, dragons; sing of the First World, forged out of chaos and painted with beauty. Sing of Bahamut, the Platinum, molding the shape of the mountains and rivers; Sing too of Chromatic Tiamat, painting all over the infinite canvas. Partnered, they woke in the darkness; partnered, they labored in acts of creation.
Can you cast a Reaction spell on your turn? Yes, but you must abide by the rule of expending only one spell slot to cast a spell on your turn. For example, if you take a Magic action to cast Fireball using a spell slot and an enemy casts Counterspell, you can’t also then expend a spell slot to cast Counterspell targeting that enemy.
As a suggestion, you could cast more than one leveled spell using your Magic Action, Bonus Action, and/or Reaction on your turn if those spells come from traits/features/feats that let characters cast them without using a spell slot, or from Magic Items.
Thank you everyone. At first I was bummed. But now I realize this gives me a reason to start working on teamwork. My friend will silvery barb when I polymorph, and I'll silvery barb when he hypnotic patterns.
Thank you everyone. At first I was bummed. But now I realize this gives me a reason to start working on teamwork. My friend will silvery barb when I polymorph, and I'll silvery barb when he hypnotic patterns.
I think this was part of the intention of the rule. It is also much easier to remember and adjudicate than the old rule was, but at the same time makes features that let you cast without a spell slot much more valuable in some cases. This was one of my favorite rule changes for 2024.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hi I tried looking for the most up-to-date info on spell casting but the last thing I can find is a reddit thread from 2 years ago
the rule i found is that if you quicken a spell and cast it as bonus action, the only other spell you can cast is a cantrip
so i take that to mean that for (action + bonus action) the most you can do is 1 leveled spell
however, i want to make sure that my wizard can try to cast polymorph, and then reaction silvery barbs on the same turn
is that fine
No you can't it's 1 spell slot/turn you can find the rule here Spells - D&D Beyond Basic Rules - Dungeons & Dragons - Sources - D&D Beyond
Greetings Babybabystewie,
I am assuming that you are looking for the most recent information on Casting Spells, and not the information from the 2014 PHB.
There is definitely more up to date info than a Reddit thread from two years ago.
Specifically, the new 5e.24 Players Handbook that came out on September 17th 2024.
If you look in the new PHB, you can find the Casting Spells section.
Additionally, there are some questions that are not addressed in the new manuals and can find the answers in the Sage Advice Compendium.
Hope this helps!
Cheers :)
Breathe, dragons; sing of the First World, forged out of chaos and painted with beauty.
Sing of Bahamut, the Platinum, molding the shape of the mountains and rivers;
Sing too of Chromatic Tiamat, painting all over the infinite canvas.
Partnered, they woke in the darkness; partnered, they labored in acts of creation.
A SAC answer also addresses the OP's question:
As a suggestion, you could cast more than one leveled spell using your Magic Action, Bonus Action, and/or Reaction on your turn if those spells come from traits/features/feats that let characters cast them without using a spell slot, or from Magic Items.
Thank you everyone. At first I was bummed. But now I realize this gives me a reason to start working on teamwork. My friend will silvery barb when I polymorph, and I'll silvery barb when he hypnotic patterns.
I think this was part of the intention of the rule. It is also much easier to remember and adjudicate than the old rule was, but at the same time makes features that let you cast without a spell slot much more valuable in some cases. This was one of my favorite rule changes for 2024.