Hello, we are having a debate in our group as to when does your reaction becomes available. Does become available at the start of the first round or at the begining of your first turn.
So for example, we roll initiative, the monster plays first and attacks me. Can i cast Shield before i have taken my first turn?
Technically you can, because Reactions are defined as follows:
A Reaction is a special action taken in response to a trigger defined in the Reaction’s description. You can take a Reaction on another creature’s turn [...] Once you take a Reaction, you can’t take another one until the start of your next turn. [...]
So you could take a Reaction right before your turn (on another creature's turn), on your turn, or right after it (on another creature's turn).
A Reaction resets at the start of your next turn, but it's not about the rounds, really.
Hello, we are having a debate in our group as to when does your reaction becomes available. Does become available at the start of the first round or at the begining of your first turn.
So for example, we roll initiative, the monster plays first and attacks me. Can i cast Shield before i have taken my first turn?
Technically you can, because Reactions are defined as follows:
So you could take a Reaction right before your turn (on another creature's turn), on your turn, or right after it (on another creature's turn).
A Reaction resets at the start of your next turn, but it's not about the rounds, really.
EDIT: edited for clarity.
Note also that in 2024 this is no longer affected by being surprised. You always have your Reaction right away when combat begins.
Thank you guys for the answers!
Yes you can TarodNet is right, i'd add that you can always use Reactions unless you're Incapacitated or otherwise unable to take Reactions somehow.
While not official ruling per se, if interested here's a Q&A with the Devs on this very subject
https://www.sageadvice.eu/we-have-some-confusion-about-reactions-on-the-first-turn/