Under the 2014 rules, you couldn't cast a Bonus Action spell on your turn while casting a leveled spell with a Longer Casting Time because "when you cast a spell with a casting time longer than a single action or reaction, you must spend your action each turn casting the spell" (2014 PHB, p. 202) and the Bonus Action rules states "you can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action." (2014 PHB, p. 202)
However, under the 2024 rules, the "One Spell with a Spell Slot per Turn" rule isn't about the type of action used to cast the spell (regular, Bonus Action, or Reaction) but about the number of spell slots you can expend in a turn: only one.
So it's unclear to me if, for example, you could start casting a spell that requires minutes to cast, and on the next turn, cast a Bonus Action or Reaction spell while taking the Magic action on each of your turns and maintaining Concentration. I guess the key is when we consider the slot to be expended: on the first turn, at the end of the Casting Time, or if it's expended turn after turn.
I feel like I'm missing something, or maybe I'm not, and now this is possible under the 2024 rules.
(one possible answer is that I'm going crazy)
---
One Spell with a Spell Slot per Turn
On a turn, you can expend only one spell slot to cast a spell. This rule means you can’t, for example, cast a spell with a spell slot using the Magic action and another one using a Bonus Action on the same turn.
Longer Casting Times
Certain spells—including a spell cast as a Ritual—require more time to cast: minutes or even hours. While you cast a spell with a casting time of 1 minute or more, you must take the Magic action on each of your turns, and you must maintain Concentration (see the rules glossary) while you do so. If your Concentration is broken, the spell fails, but you don’t expend a spell slot. To cast the spell again, you must start over.
Under the 2014 rules, you couldn't cast a Bonus Action spell on your turn while casting a leveled spell with a Longer Casting Time because "when you cast a spell with a casting time longer than a single action or reaction, you must spend your action each turn casting the spell" (2014 PHB, p. 202) and the Bonus Action rules states "you can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action." (2014 PHB, p. 202)
However, under the 2024 rules, the "One Spell with a Spell Slot per Turn" rule isn't about the type of action used to cast the spell (regular, Bonus Action, or Reaction) but about the number of spell slots you can expend in a turn: only one.
So it's unclear to me if, for example, you could start casting a spell that requires minutes to cast, and on the next turn, cast a Bonus Action or Reaction spell while taking the Magic action on each of your turns and maintaining Concentration. I guess the key is when we consider the slot to be expended: on the first turn, at the end of the Casting Time, or if it's expended turn after turn.
I feel like I'm missing something, or maybe I'm not, and now this is possible under the 2024 rules.
(one possible answer is that I'm going crazy)
---
One Spell with a Spell Slot per Turn
On a turn, you can expend only one spell slot to cast a spell. This rule means you can’t, for example, cast a spell with a spell slot using the Magic action and another one using a Bonus Action on the same turn.
Longer Casting Times
Certain spells—including a spell cast as a Ritual—require more time to cast: minutes or even hours. While you cast a spell with a casting time of 1 minute or more, you must take the Magic action on each of your turns, and you must maintain Concentration (see the rules glossary) while you do so. If your Concentration is broken, the spell fails, but you don’t expend a spell slot. To cast the spell again, you must start over.
A lot of the longer casting time spells can be done as rituals, so it's obviously not an issue there, and most of the rest are non-combat utility stuff like legend lore. It probably isn't going to come up much
However, on the rare occasion you're trying to, I dunno, geas a target while someone else wants to stop you, the spell slot isn't actually expended until the spell is complete. At least to me, this is clear from the "If your Concentration is broken, the spell fails, but you don’t expend a spell slot" part
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock) Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric) Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue) Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
I didn't say it on purpose, but I also think the slot is expended by the end of the Casting Time.
So, it looks like with the 2024 rules, it's legit to do a Ritual while casting Bonus Action or Reaction spells (except in your last turn). Or, following your example, @AntonSirius, you can do the same while casting geas, using your Magic action turn after turn.
Can Bonus actions take place in the normal action space of a melee round?
OK as a cleric let's say I cast "Spiritual Weapon" as a bonus action and then make a physical attack - this is allowed
On the next round I need to cast a Healing Word but also want to use my Bonus Action to make an attack with the already summoned Spiritual Weapon. Can this be done? Remember only one spell slot is being used on this round
On a subsequent round I want to use my "Blessing of the Raven Queen" ability to get out of trouble but also want to make an attack with my Spiritual Weapon
You cannot cast Healing Word and also attack with your spiritual weapon. You only get one Bonus Action per turn and it is specifically distinct from the Action(s) you get. Once you've spent your BA on something, you cannot use anything else that also uses a BA.
Can Bonus actions take place in the normal action space of a melee round?
OK as a cleric let's say I cast "Spiritual Weapon" as a bonus action and then make a physical attack - this is allowed
On the next round I need to cast a Healing Word but also want to use my Bonus Action to make an attack with the already summoned Spiritual Weapon. Can this be done? Remember only one spell slot is being used on this round
On a subsequent round I want to use my "Blessing of the Raven Queen" ability to get out of trouble but also want to make an attack with my Spiritual Weapon
As everyone has stated this has to do with a limit on bonus actions. You could cast cure wounds while still concentrating on spiritual weapon and using your bonus action to command the weapon. If you wanted to teleport and use your spiritual weapon you'd have to find an action teleport like thunder step instead of a bonus action teleport like the shadar-kai racial ability.
Regarding the new "One Spell with a Spell Slot per Turn" rule, I'd like to share a thought with the forum and hear your opinions.
Under the 2014 rules, you couldn't cast a Bonus Action spell on your turn while casting a leveled spell with a Longer Casting Time because "when you cast a spell with a casting time longer than a single action or reaction, you must spend your action each turn casting the spell" (2014 PHB, p. 202) and the Bonus Action rules states "you can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action." (2014 PHB, p. 202)
However, under the 2024 rules, the "One Spell with a Spell Slot per Turn" rule isn't about the type of action used to cast the spell (regular, Bonus Action, or Reaction) but about the number of spell slots you can expend in a turn: only one.
So it's unclear to me if, for example, you could start casting a spell that requires minutes to cast, and on the next turn, cast a Bonus Action or Reaction spell while taking the Magic action on each of your turns and maintaining Concentration. I guess the key is when we consider the slot to be expended: on the first turn, at the end of the Casting Time, or if it's expended turn after turn.
I feel like I'm missing something, or maybe I'm not, and now this is possible under the 2024 rules.
(one possible answer is that I'm going crazy)
---
off-hand, I'd say the spell slot isn't expended until the final turn, so that's the one where it's "using up" the 1-spell-slot-per-turn limit.
A lot of the longer casting time spells can be done as rituals, so it's obviously not an issue there, and most of the rest are non-combat utility stuff like legend lore. It probably isn't going to come up much
However, on the rare occasion you're trying to, I dunno, geas a target while someone else wants to stop you, the spell slot isn't actually expended until the spell is complete. At least to me, this is clear from the "If your Concentration is broken, the spell fails, but you don’t expend a spell slot" part
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock)
Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric)
Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue)
Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
Thank you both!
I didn't say it on purpose, but I also think the slot is expended by the end of the Casting Time.
So, it looks like with the 2024 rules, it's legit to do a Ritual while casting Bonus Action or Reaction spells (except in your last turn). Or, following your example, @AntonSirius, you can do the same while casting geas, using your Magic action turn after turn.
Nice. And something new, too.
Can Bonus actions take place in the normal action space of a melee round?
OK as a cleric let's say I cast "Spiritual Weapon" as a bonus action and then make a physical attack - this is allowed
On the next round I need to cast a Healing Word but also want to use my Bonus Action to make an attack with the already summoned Spiritual Weapon. Can this be done? Remember only one spell slot is being used on this round
On a subsequent round I want to use my "Blessing of the Raven Queen" ability to get out of trouble but also want to make an attack with my Spiritual Weapon
You cannot cast Healing Word and also attack with your spiritual weapon. You only get one Bonus Action per turn and it is specifically distinct from the Action(s) you get. Once you've spent your BA on something, you cannot use anything else that also uses a BA.
Just to add to what sabin76 said, this Sage Advice entry spells it out explicitly.
pronouns: he/she/they
As everyone has stated this has to do with a limit on bonus actions. You could cast cure wounds while still concentrating on spiritual weapon and using your bonus action to command the weapon. If you wanted to teleport and use your spiritual weapon you'd have to find an action teleport like thunder step instead of a bonus action teleport like the shadar-kai racial ability.