How does tempest clerics channel divinity destructive wrath affect chromatic orb and sorcerous burst?
Destructive wrath says " when you roll lightning or thunder damage, you can use your channel divinity to deal maximum damage instead of rolling."
Does it count as doubles for chromatic orb to leap to another target?
Does it count as rolling an 8, to roll extra damage dice for sorcerous burst?
Dealing maximum damage instead of rolling implies you dont roll any dice however in our games on foundry we always roll dice to be able to apply damage, and we configure the d8's on all dice to come out as 8 for destructive wrath.
As you already pointed out, "deal[ing] maximum damage instead of rolling" is not the same as "rolling an 8". I would rule that using Channel Divinity does not trigger the additional effects of rolling an 8, since no dice are being rolled. If you want the chance of rolling an 8 to trigger the additional effects, I would rule that you can't be using Channel Divinity for that instance.
Using Channel Divinity takes away the dice rolls (and any additional effects based upon those dice rolls).
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Playing D&D since 1982
Have played every version of the game since Basic (original Red Box Set), except that abomination sometimes called 4e.
While I agree with HarmAssasin's ruling, since it's the consensus in a similar thread (Tempest Cleric/Sorcerous Burst Interaction) and it makes sense, I'd rule it differently: I'd allow rolling to follow the spell's mechanics for spells that include it, like the two mentioned, while still maximizing the damage.
The only problem, for RAW considerations, is that the channel divinity feature says you deal maximum damage "instead of rolling". I think it's fine as TarodNet suggested but be aware that it is a house rule and then requires additional consideration. Does it apply maximum damage to the extra D8s generated for Sorcerous Burst? Does it apply when the Orbs bounce? I would say that you are no longer in RAW territory and would need to evaluate balance implications independently.
How does tempest clerics channel divinity destructive wrath affect chromatic orb and sorcerous burst?
Destructive wrath says " when you roll lightning or thunder damage, you can use your channel divinity to deal maximum damage instead of rolling."
Does it count as doubles for chromatic orb to leap to another target?
Does it count as rolling an 8, to roll extra damage dice for sorcerous burst?
Dealing maximum damage instead of rolling implies you dont roll any dice however in our games on foundry we always roll dice to be able to apply damage, and we configure the d8's on all dice to come out as 8 for destructive wrath.
Thanks
As you already pointed out, "deal[ing] maximum damage instead of rolling" is not the same as "rolling an 8". I would rule that using Channel Divinity does not trigger the additional effects of rolling an 8, since no dice are being rolled. If you want the chance of rolling an 8 to trigger the additional effects, I would rule that you can't be using Channel Divinity for that instance.
Using Channel Divinity takes away the dice rolls (and any additional effects based upon those dice rolls).
Playing D&D since 1982
Have played every version of the game since Basic (original Red Box Set), except that abomination sometimes called 4e.
While I agree with HarmAssasin's ruling, since it's the consensus in a similar thread (Tempest Cleric/Sorcerous Burst Interaction) and it makes sense, I'd rule it differently: I'd allow rolling to follow the spell's mechanics for spells that include it, like the two mentioned, while still maximizing the damage.
Also related: Chaos Bolt, Cromatic Orb, And maximum damage feature.
Yeah, that seems like the most sensible way of doing it, rather than the "always" or "never" that the other rulings impose.
The only problem, for RAW considerations, is that the channel divinity feature says you deal maximum damage "instead of rolling". I think it's fine as TarodNet suggested but be aware that it is a house rule and then requires additional consideration. Does it apply maximum damage to the extra D8s generated for Sorcerous Burst? Does it apply when the Orbs bounce? I would say that you are no longer in RAW territory and would need to evaluate balance implications independently.
How to add Tooltips.
My houserulings.