Assuming the sub-classes spells don't work for SSI, due to wording, but you can still get Goodberry (Via Mark of Hospitality Halfling), and Scorching Ray (Via Boros Background), I'm wondering if the Goodberries last forever, or Draconic Bloodline multi-class can apply their charisma mod to the scorching ray attacks at level 6. To elaborate SSI does not say the spell is cast. Therefore a Goodberry will expire 24hrs after never, but Draconic Bloodline says "when you cast a spell that deals damage of the type associated with your Draconic ancestry, add your Charisma modifier to that damage." so it shouldn't apply to a SSI Ray. Either way I'm interested in using either combination, but I just want to get a better understanding how it works. I'm also curious if the Thief Rouge subclass can use the SSI twice a turn at level 3, because the SSI doesn't count as a magic item. In addition the cast vs not cast brings up question with the Warding Bond working on multiple targets, since it was never cast on another target as long as you use the SSI. I know its a lot of rambling but there are just so many things that I'm curious about, so I apologize for so much.
Thief has an added layer of confusion as to wether it is an action granted by a class feature or the use an object action.
Warding bond can target multiple creatures at the same time.
You can use SSI while raging.
SSI can't be countered.
Probably even more weirdness.
Personally, I would say to treat it as if the spells were cast without components. That would get rid of most of the weirdness without losing much of the benefit.
Assuming the sub-classes spells don't work for SSI, due to wording, but you can still get Goodberry (Via Mark of Hospitality Halfling), and Scorching Ray (Via Boros Background), I'm wondering if the Goodberries last forever, or Draconic Bloodline multi-class can apply their charisma mod to the scorching ray attacks at level 6. To elaborate SSI does not say the spell is cast. Therefore a Goodberry will expire 24hrs after never, but Draconic Bloodline says "when you cast a spell that deals damage of the type associated with your Draconic ancestry, add your Charisma modifier to that damage." so it shouldn't apply to a SSI Ray. Either way I'm interested in using either combination, but I just want to get a better understanding how it works. I'm also curious if the Thief Rouge subclass can use the SSI twice a turn at level 3, because the SSI doesn't count as a magic item. In addition the cast vs not cast brings up question with the Warding Bond working on multiple targets, since it was never cast on another target as long as you use the SSI. I know its a lot of rambling but there are just so many things that I'm curious about, so I apologize for so much.
That... Is an interesting point. Uh... It might take some effort to convince your DM, but based on wording alone:
Probably even more weirdness.
Personally, I would say to treat it as if the spells were cast without components. That would get rid of most of the weirdness without losing much of the benefit.
Crawford clarified that the action to activate the spell storing item is indeed the “use an object” option.
https://www.sageadvice.eu/2020/04/23/can-an-artificers-spell-storing-item-be-activated-with-the-use-an-object-action-or-is-it-considered-a-magical-item/
You’re all welcome to wait for an errata, or do w/e you want. It’s your tables.