I've done some searching and not found an answer. I have a character with a wand of lightning bolts. It allows me to expend charges to cast the lightning bolt spell and I can expend multiple charges to upcast it. My question is, can I upcast the spell beyond my characters spell casting ability? I'm currently level 9 so I can cast 5th level spells. So if I use 4 charges on the wand would I be able to cast it at 6th level despite my character not being able to cast spells of that level yet?
Yes, the wand doesn't require that you have spell slots of the level you want to cast at. As long as you expend the proper number of charges, you're good.
Yep, that’s correct, that item lets you upcast the spell using additional charges, and does not put any requirements on caster level.
For posterity (and because these threads often go off track), I’ll note that that works because the item description explicitly states that you can upcast the spell using additional charges, it’s not a general rule about charges and wands.
I've done some searching and not found an answer. I have a character with a wand of lightning bolts. It allows me to expend charges to cast the lightning bolt spell and I can expend multiple charges to upcast it. My question is, can I upcast the spell beyond my characters spell casting ability? I'm currently level 9 so I can cast 5th level spells. So if I use 4 charges on the wand would I be able to cast it at 6th level despite my character not being able to cast spells of that level yet?
I don't always use the office printer.
But when I do it's to print my character sheet.
Yes, the wand doesn't require that you have spell slots of the level you want to cast at. As long as you expend the proper number of charges, you're good.
Yep, that’s correct, that item lets you upcast the spell using additional charges, and does not put any requirements on caster level.
For posterity (and because these threads often go off track), I’ll note that that works because the item description explicitly states that you can upcast the spell using additional charges, it’s not a general rule about charges and wands.
You can, but it is over all less efficient to do so. Lightning bolt does 8d6 damage at level 3 and only increases by 1d6 every level.