A question about the bard's Blade Flourish. It says "You can use only one Blade Flourish option per turn". What does it mean? Can the feature be used once per turn? Or is it possible to use the feature several times per turn, but only one? For example, if a bard has reached level 6 and received an Extra attack. He makes the first attack and chooses, for example, "Defensive Flourish". Gets a bonus to the armor class. Can he use "Mobile Flourish" for a second attack? Can he use "Defensive Flourish" again and get another armor class bonus?
Another question about "Mobile Flourish". It says "You can they immediately use your reaction to move up to your walking speed to an unoccupied space within 5 feet of the target". It turns out that the bard loses the action Reaction before the start of his next move and instead moves on this move?
A question about the bard's Blade Flourish. It says "You can use only one Blade Flourish option per turn". What does it mean? Can the feature be used once per turn? Or is it possible to use the feature several times per turn, but only one? For example, if a bard has reached level 6 and received an Extra attack. He makes the first attack and chooses, for example, "Defensive Flourish". Gets a bonus to the armor class. Can he use "Mobile Flourish" for a second attack? Can he use "Defensive Flourish" again and get another armor class bonus?
No it can't. It means that you can only use Blade Flourish option once per turn regardless of the number of attack you can make in a given turn. So once you've used one, it's not an option anymore.
Another question about "Mobile Flourish". It says "You can they immediately use your reaction to move up to your walking speed to an unoccupied space within 5 feet of the target". It turns out that the bard loses the action Reaction before the start of his next move and instead moves on this move?
Exactly, when you take a reaction, you can't take another one until the start of your next turn.
I agree, this is a bit confusing. However the way I read it you can only use the whole Blade Flourish feature once per turn.
If the intent has been to allow Blade Flourish to be used multiple times a turn I would expect it to say something like "You can use each Blade Flourish option only once per turn."
Either way you definitely can't use the same option multiple times in the same turn.
As for the Reaction movement granted by Mobile Flourish it is independent of your normal movement on your turn. So if you start your turn next to an enemy you can hit them with Mobile Flourish and push them, then use your reaction granted by Mobile Flourish to move next to them again, then use your regular movement to go somewhere else. Using this Reaction though means you wouldn't be able to take any Opportunity Attacks or other Reactions until the start of your next turn.
It could be read another way, but ultimately it’s up to your DM. Another way of reading this is;
Whenever you take the Attack action on your turn, your walking speed increases by 10 feet until the end of the turn, and if a weapon attack that you make as part of this action hits a creature, you can use one of the following Blade Flourish options of your choice. You can use only one Blade Flourish option per turn.
So the two points are (i) When you take the Attack Action, and (ii) You can only use one Blade Flourish option per turn. So an alternative way of reading this is…. If you could make two Attack Actions (in a turn) you could use Blade Flourish a 2nd time that turn (different action), as long as it’s a different option of those available for Blade Flourish. Ways to get two attack actions are not limited to, but include;
Fighter Action Surge, so you multi-class.
Haste Spell.
Else the rule should have said “You can only use Blade Flourish once per turn”.. which it does not.
English language is so… confusing… considering it uses a resource so it is limited in usages, needs a hit to activate, and doing 2/t this way needs multi-class/haste etc, it seems as though it’s of limited power.. not like it’s continuously, every turn. Either way, I dont see a problem.
A question about the bard's Blade Flourish. It says "You can use only one Blade Flourish option per turn". What does it mean? Can the feature be used once per turn? Or is it possible to use the feature several times per turn, but only one? For example, if a bard has reached level 6 and received an Extra attack. He makes the first attack and chooses, for example, "Defensive Flourish". Gets a bonus to the armor class. Can he use "Mobile Flourish" for a second attack? Can he use "Defensive Flourish" again and get another armor class bonus?
No it can't. It means that you can only use Blade Flourish option once per turn regardless of the number of attack you can make in a given turn. So once you've used one, it's not an option anymore.
I agree, this is a bit confusing. However the way I read it you can only use the whole Blade Flourish feature once per turn.
If the intent has been to allow Blade Flourish to be used multiple times a turn I would expect it to say something like "You can use each Blade Flourish option only once per turn."
Either way you definitely can't use the same option multiple times in the same turn.
As for the Reaction movement granted by Mobile Flourish it is independent of your normal movement on your turn. So if you start your turn next to an enemy you can hit them with Mobile Flourish and push them, then use your reaction granted by Mobile Flourish to move next to them again, then use your regular movement to go somewhere else. Using this Reaction though means you wouldn't be able to take any Opportunity Attacks or other Reactions until the start of your next turn.
When does this reaction occur? The meaning of the reaction is that it happens in someone else's turn. If I understood correctly, this feature has a reaction that happens on my turn.
It could be read another way, but ultimately it’s up to your DM. Another way of reading this is;
Whenever you take the Attack action on your turn, your walking speed increases by 10 feet until the end of the turn, and if a weapon attack that you make as part of this action hits a creature, you can use one of the following Blade Flourish options of your choice. You can use only one Blade Flourish option per turn.
So the two points are (i) When you take the Attack Action, and (ii) You can only use one Blade Flourish option per turn. So an alternative way of reading this is…. If you could make two Attack Actions (in a turn) you could use Blade Flourish a 2nd time that turn (different action), as long as it’s a different option of those available for Blade Flourish. Ways to get two attack actions are not limited to, but include;
Fighter Action Surge, so you multi-class.
Haste Spell.
Else the rule should have said “You can only use Blade Flourish once per turn”.. which it does not.
English language is so… confusing… considering it uses a resource so it is limited in usages, needs a hit to activate, and doing 2/t this way needs multi-class/haste etc, it seems as though it’s of limited power.. not like it’s continuously, every turn. Either way, I dont see a problem.
If I make two Attack actions in my turn, I make two identical Blade Flourish (add two bonuses to the armor class, for example). If I have one Attack action but two strikes, then I can only use one Blade Flourish after the second one (when the action has ended). Am I right?
From the Reaction section in chapter 9 of the PHB: "A reaction is an instant response to a trigger of some kind, which can occur on your turn or on someone else’s."
The reaction granted by Mobile Flourish must be taken immediately after pushing the target.
Edit: the player could of course choose not to use the Mobile Flourish reaction if they wanted to save their reaction for something else like Counterspell.
From the Reaction section in chapter 9 of the PHB: "A reaction is an instant response to a trigger of some kind, which can occur on your turn or on someone else’s."
A question about the bard's Blade Flourish. It says "You can use only one Blade Flourish option per turn". What does it mean? Can the feature be used once per turn? Or is it possible to use the feature several times per turn, but only one?
For example, if a bard has reached level 6 and received an Extra attack. He makes the first attack and chooses, for example, "Defensive Flourish". Gets a bonus to the armor class. Can he use "Mobile Flourish" for a second attack? Can he use "Defensive Flourish" again and get another armor class bonus?
Another question about "Mobile Flourish". It says "You can they immediately use your reaction to move up to your walking speed to an unoccupied space within 5 feet of the target". It turns out that the bard loses the action Reaction before the start of his next move and instead moves on this move?
No it can't. It means that you can only use Blade Flourish option once per turn regardless of the number of attack you can make in a given turn. So once you've used one, it's not an option anymore.
Exactly, when you take a reaction, you can't take another one until the start of your next turn.
I agree, this is a bit confusing. However the way I read it you can only use the whole Blade Flourish feature once per turn.
If the intent has been to allow Blade Flourish to be used multiple times a turn I would expect it to say something like "You can use each Blade Flourish option only once per turn."
Either way you definitely can't use the same option multiple times in the same turn.
As for the Reaction movement granted by Mobile Flourish it is independent of your normal movement on your turn. So if you start your turn next to an enemy you can hit them with Mobile Flourish and push them, then use your reaction granted by Mobile Flourish to move next to them again, then use your regular movement to go somewhere else. Using this Reaction though means you wouldn't be able to take any Opportunity Attacks or other Reactions until the start of your next turn.
And yes, using your reaction on mobile flourish means not having a reaction until the start of your next turn.
It could be read another way, but ultimately it’s up to your DM. Another way of reading this is;
So the two points are (i) When you take the Attack Action, and (ii) You can only use one Blade Flourish option per turn. So an alternative way of reading this is…. If you could make two Attack Actions (in a turn) you could use Blade Flourish a 2nd time that turn (different action), as long as it’s a different option of those available for Blade Flourish. Ways to get two attack actions are not limited to, but include;
Else the rule should have said “You can only use Blade Flourish once per turn”.. which it does not.
English language is so… confusing… considering it uses a resource so it is limited in usages, needs a hit to activate, and doing 2/t this way needs multi-class/haste etc, it seems as though it’s of limited power.. not like it’s continuously, every turn. Either way, I dont see a problem.
Intent on this feature has been clarified by one of the Dev;
When does this reaction occur? The meaning of the reaction is that it happens in someone else's turn. If I understood correctly, this feature has a reaction that happens on my turn.
If I make two Attack actions in my turn, I make two identical Blade Flourish (add two bonuses to the armor class, for example). If I have one Attack action but two strikes, then I can only use one Blade Flourish after the second one (when the action has ended). Am I right?
From the Reaction section in chapter 9 of the PHB: "A reaction is an instant response to a trigger of some kind, which can occur on your turn or on someone else’s."
https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/phb/combat#Reactions
The reaction granted by Mobile Flourish must be taken immediately after pushing the target.
Edit: the player could of course choose not to use the Mobile Flourish reaction if they wanted to save their reaction for something else like Counterspell.
OK, thanks, missed this moment