Lets say you are making a druid and later on get a level in wizard giving you access to the wizards spell book and what ever spells you want to choose for your first level stuff. Now lets say your a higher level druid with access to higher level spells from the druid spell table. According to the wizard spell book rules it says that i can learn any wizard spell like buying the spell from a store and what not and copy it to my book as long as i have an appropriate level spell slot for said spell. Technically i have higher level spell slots as im a higher level druid. It dosent state that im required to use wizard spell slots. Nor do we gain additional spells slots that are used for particular classes so that leads me to believe that all spell slots are the same. if im level 6 with three levels in 2 spell casting classes i dont get double the amount of spell slots to use half for wizard and half for the other. So as i see it spell slots are spell slots no matter the class. Am i missing something or would you be able to learn higher level wizard spells if you purchased them and copied them into the book instead of learning them as you level so long as you have higher level spell slots appropriate for the level of spell you want to copy?
Answered this a few days ago, but to repeat the short answer is no, they can't record spells of a level higher than their Wizard level would allow. The key sentence is from multiclassing in the PHB: "You determine what spells you know and can prepare for each class individually, as if you were a single-classed member of that class." This means a Druid 3/Wizard 2 would be treated exactly like a level 2 Wizard for all spell learning and preparing concepts. As a result they could only prepare or learn 1st level wizard spells just like a normal level 2 Wizard. Then the wizard class section says you can copy a spell into your spellbook only if "it is of a spell level you can prepare". Therefore, your wizard spell list will always look just like a level 2 Wizard spell list.
-and I was the guy that asked. I failed to notice the copy prepare restriction on that part of the rules. If you've got the PHB it's page 114 in the "Your Spellbook" Sidebar right after the Title "Copying a Spell into the Book".
Even if we could put spells into the Spellbook of higher level, we would still be restricted by the Multiclassing Restrictions on Preparing.
Thanks by the way RegentCorreon.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Ok i have a question:
Lets say you are making a druid and later on get a level in wizard giving you access to the wizards spell book and what ever spells you want to choose for your first level stuff. Now lets say your a higher level druid with access to higher level spells from the druid spell table. According to the wizard spell book rules it says that i can learn any wizard spell like buying the spell from a store and what not and copy it to my book as long as i have an appropriate level spell slot for said spell. Technically i have higher level spell slots as im a higher level druid. It dosent state that im required to use wizard spell slots. Nor do we gain additional spells slots that are used for particular classes so that leads me to believe that all spell slots are the same. if im level 6 with three levels in 2 spell casting classes i dont get double the amount of spell slots to use half for wizard and half for the other. So as i see it spell slots are spell slots no matter the class. Am i missing something or would you be able to learn higher level wizard spells if you purchased them and copied them into the book instead of learning them as you level so long as you have higher level spell slots appropriate for the level of spell you want to copy?
Answered this a few days ago, but to repeat the short answer is no, they can't record spells of a level higher than their Wizard level would allow. The key sentence is from multiclassing in the PHB: "You determine what spells you know and can prepare for each class individually, as if you were a single-classed member of that class." This means a Druid 3/Wizard 2 would be treated exactly like a level 2 Wizard for all spell learning and preparing concepts. As a result they could only prepare or learn 1st level wizard spells just like a normal level 2 Wizard. Then the wizard class section says you can copy a spell into your spellbook only if "it is of a spell level you can prepare". Therefore, your wizard spell list will always look just like a level 2 Wizard spell list.
-and I was the guy that asked. I failed to notice the copy prepare restriction on that part of the rules. If you've got the PHB it's page 114 in the "Your Spellbook" Sidebar right after the Title "Copying a Spell into the Book".
Even if we could put spells into the Spellbook of higher level, we would still be restricted by the Multiclassing Restrictions on Preparing.
Thanks by the way RegentCorreon.