I understand that the pact of the blade feature for the warlock says that if the weapon is more than 5 feet away for a minute it returns to the owner. Could the owner will it to stay in place?
The rule doesn't say the weapon returns to its owner. It says the following:
"Your pact weapon disappears if it is more than 5 feet away from you for 1 minute or more. It also disappears if you use this feature again, if you dismiss the weapon (no action required), or if you die."
The pact weapon disappears. You can resummon it anytime at the cost of an action. If you have a specific weapon that has been bound as your pact weapon then the specific weapon reappears when you summon it. Otherwise, you can summon any form of melee weapon. If you have the Improved Pact Weapon Invocation the pact weapon becomes +1, can be used as the focus for your warlock spells and can include ranged weapons (long or short bow, heavy or light crossbow).
However, rules as written, you can't tell the weapon to stay. This prevents someone from taking it and using it while keeping you unconscious so you can't dismiss it.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I understand that the pact of the blade feature for the warlock says that if the weapon is more than 5 feet away for a minute it returns to the owner. Could the owner will it to stay in place?
Rules as written, no. But ask your DM if they are okay with it. DMs can house rule.
The rule doesn't say the weapon returns to its owner. It says the following:
"Your pact weapon disappears if it is more than 5 feet away from you for 1 minute or more. It also disappears if you use this feature again, if you dismiss the weapon (no action required), or if you die."
The pact weapon disappears. You can resummon it anytime at the cost of an action. If you have a specific weapon that has been bound as your pact weapon then the specific weapon reappears when you summon it. Otherwise, you can summon any form of melee weapon. If you have the Improved Pact Weapon Invocation the pact weapon becomes +1, can be used as the focus for your warlock spells and can include ranged weapons (long or short bow, heavy or light crossbow).
However, rules as written, you can't tell the weapon to stay. This prevents someone from taking it and using it while keeping you unconscious so you can't dismiss it.