Say we have Robby, the fighter. He has a longbow. And action surge. Johnny Bravo the paladin and Shooty McShoot, the rogue, are his enemies. But both are hidden. Can Robby use action surge to ready 2 shots with his longbow?
I believe you can only ready a single action at a time. So the answer would be no. You could, alternatively, use the first Action to roll Perception to attempt to locate one of them, and use the second Action to attack them.
Alright, a better question would be, could I ready 2 different actions doing this? That’s what the question was supposed to be, not what I posted. Sorry if I couldn’t come clear.
Alright, a better question would be, could I ready 2 different actions doing this? That’s what the question was supposed to be, not what I posted. Sorry if I couldn’t come clear.
Short answer is probably no.
Longer answer is that you *might* be able to take the ready action twice on a turn, and then you could have two different actions readied. The absolute problem is that you only have one Reaction available to implement a readied action - so actually using both readied actions is impossible. It would be quite a wasteful use of your Action Surge.
You could definitely never Ready two spells, because readying one requires concentration so it cannot be done twice.
I suppose you could ready an action to stab the enemy with your dagger if it approaches you. And then you could ready an action to throw your dagger at the enemy if it moves away. Then you would just use your single reaction on whichever choice the enemy makes.
But that seems like a horrible waste of a turn just to demonstrate something is possible.
Eh... I think the general assumption is that the Ready action is a one-to-one relationship: you prepare to do one thing under specific circumstances, and accomplish that one thing in a fraction of the time you normally have available during your turn. There's support for this as a direct inference from the PHB entry on readying an action:
First, you decide what perceivable circumstance will trigger your reaction. Then, you choose the action you will take in response to that trigger, or you choose to move up to your speed in response to it. Examples include "If the cultist steps on the trapdoor, I'll pull the lever that opens it," and "If the goblin steps next to me, I move away."
You cannot ready both an action and movement with the Ready action. This implies that you cannot ready multiple actions via action surge, nor any combination of action/bonus/move. If this were not the case, there would have been no reason to remove the option of delaying your turn entirely.
I can see individual DMs houseruling either way.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I have a question.
Say we have Robby, the fighter. He has a longbow. And action surge. Johnny Bravo the paladin and Shooty McShoot, the rogue, are his enemies. But both are hidden. Can Robby use action surge to ready 2 shots with his longbow?
Extended Signature! Yay! https://www.dndbeyond.com/forums/off-topic/adohands-kitchen/3153-extended-signature-thread?page=2#c21
Haven’t used this account in forever. Still a big fan of crawling claws.
I believe you can only ready a single action at a time. So the answer would be no. You could, alternatively, use the first Action to roll Perception to attempt to locate one of them, and use the second Action to attack them.
Alright, a better question would be, could I ready 2 different actions doing this? That’s what the question was supposed to be, not what I posted. Sorry if I couldn’t come clear.
Extended Signature! Yay! https://www.dndbeyond.com/forums/off-topic/adohands-kitchen/3153-extended-signature-thread?page=2#c21
Haven’t used this account in forever. Still a big fan of crawling claws.
Short answer is probably no.
Longer answer is that you *might* be able to take the ready action twice on a turn, and then you could have two different actions readied. The absolute problem is that you only have one Reaction available to implement a readied action - so actually using both readied actions is impossible. It would be quite a wasteful use of your Action Surge.
You could definitely never Ready two spells, because readying one requires concentration so it cannot be done twice.
I suppose you could ready an action to stab the enemy with your dagger if it approaches you. And then you could ready an action to throw your dagger at the enemy if it moves away. Then you would just use your single reaction on whichever choice the enemy makes.
But that seems like a horrible waste of a turn just to demonstrate something is possible.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
The rules don't say you can't ready multiple actions, so I guess you can (except spells because concentration). You still only get one reaction.
Eh... I think the general assumption is that the Ready action is a one-to-one relationship: you prepare to do one thing under specific circumstances, and accomplish that one thing in a fraction of the time you normally have available during your turn. There's support for this as a direct inference from the PHB entry on readying an action:
You cannot ready both an action and movement with the Ready action. This implies that you cannot ready multiple actions via action surge, nor any combination of action/bonus/move. If this were not the case, there would have been no reason to remove the option of delaying your turn entirely.
I can see individual DMs houseruling either way.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.