The main question: if Warlocks get a spell scroll of 6th-level or higher, will they ever get to cast it without making a spellcasting check?
The main rule reads:
> A spell scroll bears the words of a single spell, written in a mystical cipher. If the spell is on your class’s spell list, you can read the scroll and cast its spell without providing any material Components. Otherwise, the scroll is unintelligible. Casting the spell by reading the scroll requires the spell’s normal Casting Time. Once the spell is cast, the words on the scroll fade, and it crumbles to dust. If the casting is interrupted, the scroll is not lost.
> If the spell is on your class’s spell list but of a higher level than you can normally cast, you must make an ability check using your Spellcasting Ability to determine whether you cast it successfully. The DC equals 10 + the spell’s level. On a failed check, the spell disappears from the scroll with no other effect.
Do Mystic Arcanums count as spell-level progression here, or are they completely separate from Warlock casting?
Thanks for the reply! So to clarify: in your opinion, Mystic Arcanum is a part of Warlock spell-level progression and should count towards the spell scroll’s level limit?
Thanks for the reply! So to clarify: in your opinion, Mystic Arcanum is a part of Warlock spell-level progression and should count towards the spell scroll’s level limit?
Yes
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
The main question: if Warlocks get a spell scroll of 6th-level or higher, will they ever get to cast it without making a spellcasting check?
The main rule reads:
> A spell scroll bears the words of a single spell, written in a mystical cipher. If the spell is on your class’s spell list, you can read the scroll and cast its spell without providing any material Components. Otherwise, the scroll is unintelligible. Casting the spell by reading the scroll requires the spell’s normal Casting Time. Once the spell is cast, the words on the scroll fade, and it crumbles to dust. If the casting is interrupted, the scroll is not lost.
> If the spell is on your class’s spell list but of a higher level than you can normally cast, you must make an ability check using your Spellcasting Ability to determine whether you cast it successfully. The DC equals 10 + the spell’s level. On a failed check, the spell disappears from the scroll with no other effect.
Do Mystic Arcanums count as spell-level progression here, or are they completely separate from Warlock casting?
I would say mystic arcanum does count as a spell of a level you can normally cast for the purposes of this item.
Notice how the wording is careful to not mention spell slots so as to not nerf warlocks or buff multiclasses.
Thanks for the reply! So to clarify: in your opinion, Mystic Arcanum is a part of Warlock spell-level progression and should count towards the spell scroll’s level limit?
Yes