I'd have to agree with @Eoun, nothing in the description indicates the CD is spent before the action is taken so if the action never happens then the resource isn't spent.
Spells have text that makes the spellslot be consumed when you make the choice to ready one but that is a clear exception, not the general rule.
So if you prepare an action to turn undead when they move in range and they don’t do that, do you lose your channel divinity?
If you Ready Channel Divinity: Turn Undead, and never use your readied action to do so, you shouldn't loose one use of it because only when you ready a spell, you cast it as normal but hold its energy until released. It's an exception to spells and no other effects, despite being referred as energy or magical, are used when Ready and require holding it with concentration until released.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So if you prepare an action to turn undead when they move in range and they don’t do that, do you lose your channel divinity?
Channel divinity is magical, but it isn't a spell, so no.
History:
(っ'-')╮ =͟͟ 🔥「sword, servant, hound, memory, mind, horse, lord, bolt, smoke, sight」
I'd have to agree with @Eoun, nothing in the description indicates the CD is spent before the action is taken so if the action never happens then the resource isn't spent.
Spells have text that makes the spellslot be consumed when you make the choice to ready one but that is a clear exception, not the general rule.
If you Ready Channel Divinity: Turn Undead, and never use your readied action to do so, you shouldn't loose one use of it because only when you ready a spell, you cast it as normal but hold its energy until released. It's an exception to spells and no other effects, despite being referred as energy or magical, are used when Ready and require holding it with concentration until released.