Can someone point me to the rules on drinking a potion in 2024? When the PHB launched there was a lot of talk about the Potion of Healing saying "As a bonus action", however, the Magic action includes "use a magic item that requires a Magic action to be activated". The concensus was that we'd have to wait for the DMG to know the true state of things, as that's where all the other potions were.
However, all the other potions, like Potion of Pugilism say "When you drink this potion" or "After you drink this potion" but do not state that it's a Bonus Action. For something to be taken as a Bonus Action, it can be "only if a rule explicitly says so". It also does not indicate that it's a Magic either, which means it's not technically a Magic action.
While I know it's a house rule to use potions as a Bonus Action, I'm trying to find the exact location where the rules state that it's a Bonus Action, or a Magic Action. Utilize specifically works for non-magical items, which most potions definitely are not.
Can someone quote me chapter and verse on this or was it all assumption and nothing is written down?
An item in the Potion category might be a magical brew that must be imbibed or an oil that must be applied to a creature or an object. A typical potion consists of 1 ounce of liquid in a vial.
Using a Potion. Potions are consumable items. Drinking a potion or administering it to another creature requires a Bonus Action. Applying an oil might take longer as specified in its description. Once used, a potion takes effect immediately, and it is used up.
Can someone point me to the rules on drinking a potion in 2024? When the PHB launched there was a lot of talk about the Potion of Healing saying "As a bonus action", however, the Magic action includes "use a magic item that requires a Magic action to be activated". The concensus was that we'd have to wait for the DMG to know the true state of things, as that's where all the other potions were.
However, all the other potions, like Potion of Pugilism say "When you drink this potion" or "After you drink this potion" but do not state that it's a Bonus Action. For something to be taken as a Bonus Action, it can be "only if a rule explicitly says so". It also does not indicate that it's a Magic either, which means it's not technically a Magic action.
While I know it's a house rule to use potions as a Bonus Action, I'm trying to find the exact location where the rules state that it's a Bonus Action, or a Magic Action. Utilize specifically works for non-magical items, which most potions definitely are not.
Can someone quote me chapter and verse on this or was it all assumption and nothing is written down?
Let me put here the rule from the DMG:
I have no idea why I didn't see that. I looked at Activating a Magic Item in the same section enough.
Thanks.