As a Path of Conquest/hexblade warlock it is important for me to know if Frightened creatures have disadvantage on rolls to no longer be Frightened. Some spells such a wrathful smite allows enemy's to roll to end their Frightened debuff while others don't. It would make Frightened one of the best debuffs in the game if this were the case so I want to know before I go into a game where it could be the difference between keeping the character or losing it.
The text for wrathful smite reads as "As an action, the creature can make a Wisdom check against your spell save DC to steel its resolve and end this spell." So in this case is the target stuck with disadvantage?
That is unfortunate wording and likely requires an errata (I'm sure it is supposed to say "repeat the WIS save"). But in that case, yes, they have disadvantage.
As a Path of Conquest/hexblade warlock it is important for me to know if Frightened creatures have disadvantage on rolls to no longer be Frightened. Some spells such a wrathful smite allows enemy's to roll to end their Frightened debuff while others don't. It would make Frightened one of the best debuffs in the game if this were the case so I want to know before I go into a game where it could be the difference between keeping the character or losing it.
Just ability checks and attack rolls, not saving throws.
"Sooner or later, your Players are going to smash your railroad into a sandbox."
-Vedexent
"real life is a super high CR."
-OboeLauren
"............anybody got any potatoes? We could drop a potato in each hole an' see which ones get viciously mauled by horrible monsters?"
-Ilyara Thundertale
The text for wrathful smite reads as "As an action, the creature can make a Wisdom check against your spell save DC to steel its resolve and end this spell." So in this case is the target stuck with disadvantage?
That is unfortunate wording and likely requires an errata (I'm sure it is supposed to say "repeat the WIS save"). But in that case, yes, they have disadvantage.