Hello! I would like to ask for a rules question. If I put up a web (using wand of web) and then use eldritch blast (with repelling blast) to push an enemy into it, would he count as stuck (so you have advantage to hit on him) at once, or first on his round if he misses his saving throw?
Each creature that starts its turn in the webs or that enters them during its turn must make a Dexterity saving throw. On a failed save, the creature is restrained as long as it remains in the webs or until it breaks free.
As written they only have to save when they start in the web, or enter the web "on their turn" which is a somewhat odd restriction, but is still there. So they don't have to save to avoid restrained until their turn stars.
As a DM I might be tempted to bend the rules and count it immediately as needing a save.
Each creature that starts its turn in the webs or that enters them during its turn must make a Dexterity saving throw. On a failed save, the creature is restrained as long as it remains in the webs or until it breaks free.
As written they only have to save when they start in the web, or enter the web "on their turn" which is a somewhat odd restriction, but is still there. So they don't have to save to avoid restrained until their turn stars.
As a DM I might be tempted to bend the rules and count it immediately as needing a save.
That wording is there precisely so that you don't get to "double dip" - a creature doesn't have to make a save when it's pushed in AND when it starts its turn there. It makes sure that a creature encounters the web at most once per round.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hello!
I would like to ask for a rules question. If I put up a web (using wand of web) and then use eldritch blast (with repelling blast) to push an enemy into it, would he count as stuck (so you have advantage to hit on him) at once, or first on his round if he misses his saving throw?
As written they only have to save when they start in the web, or enter the web "on their turn" which is a somewhat odd restriction, but is still there. So they don't have to save to avoid restrained until their turn stars.
As a DM I might be tempted to bend the rules and count it immediately as needing a save.
That wording is there precisely so that you don't get to "double dip" - a creature doesn't have to make a save when it's pushed in AND when it starts its turn there. It makes sure that a creature encounters the web at most once per round.