Looking for consensus ruling on +x items effects vs attunement. ... example lets use to DMG one but with flavor...
Item +1 Shield of Poison Resistance - If this item is attuned you get a +1 shield (3AC) and a resistance to poison. easy to follow
if this item is not attuned - do you still get the +1 to AC?
DMG wording - Without becoming attuned to an item that requires attunement, a creature gains only its nonmagical benefits, unless its description states otherwise. For example, a magic shield that requires attunement provides the benefits of a normal shield to a creature not attuned to it, but none of its magical properties.
reason of my request is several +1 items do not require attunement... a normal +1 shield would work for (3AC) but this one for resistance to poison requires attunement, ie is the +1 considered the 'normal shield benefit' and can be used that way giving up just the resistance to damage or is it an all or nothing ? do you need to attune to get the +1 and resistance?
reason of my request is several +1 items do not require attunement... a normal +1 shield would work for (3AC) but this one for resistance to poison requires attunement, ie is the +1 considered the 'normal shield benefit' and can be used that way giving up just the resistance to damage or is it an all or nothing ? do you need to attune to get the +1 and resistance?
Since this isn't a "normal +1 shield" the rules for a "normal +1 shield" does not apply. You would still get the usual +2 shield bonus, though.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Looking for consensus ruling on +x items effects vs attunement. ... example lets use to DMG one but with flavor...
Item +1 Shield of Poison Resistance - If this item is attuned you get a +1 shield (3AC) and a resistance to poison. easy to follow
if this item is not attuned - do you still get the +1 to AC?
DMG wording - Without becoming attuned to an item that requires attunement, a creature gains only its nonmagical benefits, unless its description states otherwise. For example, a magic shield that requires attunement provides the benefits of a normal shield to a creature not attuned to it, but none of its magical properties.
reason of my request is several +1 items do not require attunement... a normal +1 shield would work for (3AC) but this one for resistance to poison requires attunement, ie is the +1 considered the 'normal shield benefit' and can be used that way giving up just the resistance to damage or is it an all or nothing ? do you need to attune to get the +1 and resistance?
I am the Patron of Light, not its Patron Saint. ***Casts Flame Strike ***
No, you do not get the +1, all you get is the non-magical benefit and +1 is magical.
You’d still get the basic +2 from using a shield, but nothing more.
Since this isn't a "normal +1 shield" the rules for a "normal +1 shield" does not apply. You would still get the usual +2 shield bonus, though.