So the Arcane Cleric has a LVL 1 ability that allows you to take two Wizard cantrips and use them as Cleric cantrips. Later on you gain an ability to add wisdom modifier to cantrips damage.
The strixhaven feat allows you to pick your spellcasting ability for the two cantrips and single LVL 1 spell.
If you got a damage cantrips and picked wisdom as the spellcast ability does it count as a Cleric cantrips or is that a specific trait to make that count?
No, spells only count as cleric spells if they are either
On the cleric spell list, or
Are granted by an ability that states they count as cleric spells
A spell being cast using wisdom doesn't make it a cleric spell.
I don't think number 1 is true. Just being on the cleric spell list doesn't make a spell a cleric spell for you. You have to actually learn/prepare it through the cleric Spellcasting feature, or through another feature that declares them as cleric spells.
From SAC:
A wizard multiclasses into Wild Magic sorcerer. Do spells cast from their spellbook trigger Wild Magic Surge if they are on the sorcerer spell list, or do they have to gain them from sorcerer to trigger? From the multiclassing rules: “Each spell you know and prepare is associated with one of your classes” (PH, 164). This rule means only the spells gained from levels in sorcerer trigger Wild Magic Surge.
So if a level 8 High Elf Light Cleric were to choose Toll the Dead as their Elf Cantrip, it wouldn't benefit from the Light Cleric's Potent Spellcasting .
Yes, but i think the starter of the thread are talking about the Strixhaven Initiate feat. Spells chosen with this feat that are not on the cleric list, are not cleric spells. Even if you choose wisdom as your spellcaster ability, which is Davyd's correct answer. The spells you choose with Arcane Initiate are considered cleric spells for you, but no other spells that you get from other sources.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So the Arcane Cleric has a LVL 1 ability that allows you to take two Wizard cantrips and use them as Cleric cantrips. Later on you gain an ability to add wisdom modifier to cantrips damage.
The strixhaven feat allows you to pick your spellcasting ability for the two cantrips and single LVL 1 spell.
If you got a damage cantrips and picked wisdom as the spellcast ability does it count as a Cleric cantrips or is that a specific trait to make that count?
No, spells only count as cleric spells if they are either
A spell being cast using wisdom doesn't make it a cleric spell.
Find my D&D Beyond articles here
Thank you.
I don't think number 1 is true. Just being on the cleric spell list doesn't make a spell a cleric spell for you. You have to actually learn/prepare it through the cleric Spellcasting feature, or through another feature that declares them as cleric spells.
From SAC:
So if a level 8 High Elf Light Cleric were to choose Toll the Dead as their Elf Cantrip, it wouldn't benefit from the Light Cleric's Potent Spellcasting .
Yes, but i think the starter of the thread are talking about the Strixhaven Initiate feat. Spells chosen with this feat that are not on the cleric list, are not cleric spells. Even if you choose wisdom as your spellcaster ability, which is Davyd's correct answer. The spells you choose with Arcane Initiate are considered cleric spells for you, but no other spells that you get from other sources.