Ok, so I'm a Paladin with the Great Weapon Master Feat. I start my turn by casting Hunter's Mark as a Bonus Action and then attack with my Action after that. On the attack, I bring a creature to 0 hit points. Am I not allowed to take an extra melee attack in this case because I have already used my Bonus Action for the turn? Or does the Feat grant me a bonus attack regardless?
You get one bonus action per turn. I'm unaware of any ability that can grant you a second one. This means that you can't cast/move Hunter's Mark and use the attack granted reducing a creature to 0 or critting on the same turn.
Hunters mark and GWM's bonus action compete heavily since you'll often want to move the mark once a creature dies. I probably wouldn't cast hunters mark unless I was fighting a big bad or at least a few creatures with more HP. It is important to note that HM can be moved on a subsequent turn while the spell is active, not just the next turn after the creature dies. You could therefore use the bonus action from GWM if you killed a creature to strike another creature and then move the mark on the next turn.
Ok, so I'm a Paladin with the Great Weapon Master Feat. I start my turn by casting Hunter's Mark as a Bonus Action and then attack with my Action after that. On the attack, I bring a creature to 0 hit points. Am I not allowed to take an extra melee attack in this case because I have already used my Bonus Action for the turn? Or does the Feat grant me a bonus attack regardless?
If the intent was to grant a bonus attack regardless, it would be worded differently. This significantly reduces its power on builds that regularly spend bonus actions for some other purpose.
Ok, so I'm a Paladin with the Great Weapon Master Feat. I start my turn by casting Hunter's Mark as a Bonus Action and then attack with my Action after that. On the attack, I bring a creature to 0 hit points. Am I not allowed to take an extra melee attack in this case because I have already used my Bonus Action for the turn? Or does the Feat grant me a bonus attack regardless?
You've already used your bonus action. This is intentional, and as Panta points out it is to prevent disproportionate power creep with other abilities that grant a bonus action option.
For instance, a baseline Monk (without regard to subclass) with Polearm Master wielding a spear/quarterstaff taking the Attack action qualifies for six different bonus actions: single unarmed strike at no cost (Martial Arts), two unarmed strikes at the cost of 1 Ki point (Flurry of Blows), 1d4 (scales with Martial Arts) weapon attack at no cost (PAM), Dodge for 1 Ki point (Patient Defense), Disengage for 1 Ki point (Step of the Wind), or Dash for 1 Ki point (Step of the Wind). The Monk can only choose to use one (or none) of these options per turn.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Ok, so I'm a Paladin with the Great Weapon Master Feat. I start my turn by casting Hunter's Mark as a Bonus Action and then attack with my Action after that. On the attack, I bring a creature to 0 hit points. Am I not allowed to take an extra melee attack in this case because I have already used my Bonus Action for the turn? Or does the Feat grant me a bonus attack regardless?
You get one bonus action per turn. I'm unaware of any ability that can grant you a second one. This means that you can't cast/move Hunter's Mark and use the attack granted reducing a creature to 0 or critting on the same turn.
Hunters mark and GWM's bonus action compete heavily since you'll often want to move the mark once a creature dies. I probably wouldn't cast hunters mark unless I was fighting a big bad or at least a few creatures with more HP. It is important to note that HM can be moved on a subsequent turn while the spell is active, not just the next turn after the creature dies. You could therefore use the bonus action from GWM if you killed a creature to strike another creature and then move the mark on the next turn.
Here is the rule for reference:
https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/phb/combat#BonusActions
If the intent was to grant a bonus attack regardless, it would be worded differently. This significantly reduces its power on builds that regularly spend bonus actions for some other purpose.
You've already used your bonus action. This is intentional, and as Panta points out it is to prevent disproportionate power creep with other abilities that grant a bonus action option.
For instance, a baseline Monk (without regard to subclass) with Polearm Master wielding a spear/quarterstaff taking the Attack action qualifies for six different bonus actions: single unarmed strike at no cost (Martial Arts), two unarmed strikes at the cost of 1 Ki point (Flurry of Blows), 1d4 (scales with Martial Arts) weapon attack at no cost (PAM), Dodge for 1 Ki point (Patient Defense), Disengage for 1 Ki point (Step of the Wind), or Dash for 1 Ki point (Step of the Wind). The Monk can only choose to use one (or none) of these options per turn.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.