Hi everybody. I just need a rule clarification for casting rituals as a Cleric.
The Players Basic Handbook and Compendium here state that "To cast a spell as a ritual, a spellcaster must have a feature that grants the ability to do so. The cleric and the druid, for example, have such a feature. The caster must also have the spell prepared or on his or her list of spells known, unless the character’s ritual feature specifies otherwise, as the wizard’s does."
And the Players Hand Book states that "You can a Cleric spell as a ritual if that spell has the ritual tag and you have the spell prepared"
From my understanding that in the first statement you can cast a spell as a ritual that's on the list of known spells. And in the PHB statement say you can only cast it as a ritual if you have the spell prepared?
Anyone have an idea which one is correct for the cleric as all of the ritual spells come up on my Character sheet on here.
Both statements are correct. To cast a spell as ritual the following remarks must be verified:
!) You must have the Ritual feature. Cleric, for example, has it, sorcerer does not. There is also the feat "Ritual Caster" for those classes that don't automatically have the ritual feature.
2) The spell must have the "Ritual" tag in the spell description.
3) The caster must have the spell prepared, or if you do not need to prepare spells, the spell just needs to be known. Wizards are kind of exception, since they have the spellbook, they only need the spell to be in the spellbook.
Follow up question for one specific Ritual. As a cleric with magic initiate - wizard, would find familiar take an hour to cast when not casting it as a ritual?
Follow up question for one specific Ritual. As a cleric with magic initiate - wizard, would find familiar take an hour to cast when not casting it as a ritual?
It does in the spell search list and PHB (page 240)
Ouch I am sorry, you are right. You just found a bug ;-)
Anyway, since the Ritual feature for clerics says : " You can cast any cleric spell as ritual...", I'd say that in your case you can't cast find familiar as ritual, since magic initiate does not make the spell a cleric spell.
Can my Arcane trickster rogue cast identify as a ritual? It would seem to be the case, according to the PHB, but my DM says I need the ritual caster feat.
Nick: Since you are accessing that spell via Magic Initiate, you get to cast it for free once a day. When casting it in this manner, it only takes the allotted casting time. You wouldn't be able to cast it as a ritual since it's not a cleric spell and you're not a wizard.
Can my Arcane trickster rogue cast identify as a ritual? It would seem to be the case, according to the PHB, but my DM says I need the ritual caster feat.
He's right, the Rogues do not have the Ritual Casting feature, and so you'd need the feat (which has its own limitations, so read up on it before you take it).
From the PHB, Page 203: "To cast a spell as a ritual, a spellcaster must have a feature that grants the ability to do so."
so, if im understanding this right. a wizard doesn't need the ritual spell prepared to cast it as a ritual?
A wizard needs to have the ritual spell either prepared or they need a copy in their spell book. In either of these cases, the wizard can cast the spell as a ritual if it has the ritual tag.
Hi everybody. I just need a rule clarification for casting rituals as a Cleric.
The Players Basic Handbook and Compendium here state that "To cast a spell as a ritual, a spellcaster must have a feature that grants the ability to do so. The cleric and the druid, for example, have such a feature. The caster must also have the spell prepared or on his or her list of spells known, unless the character’s ritual feature specifies otherwise, as the wizard’s does."
And the Players Hand Book states that "You can a Cleric spell as a ritual if that spell has the ritual tag and you have the spell prepared"
From my understanding that in the first statement you can cast a spell as a ritual that's on the list of known spells. And in the PHB statement say you can only cast it as a ritual if you have the spell prepared?
Anyone have an idea which one is correct for the cleric as all of the ritual spells come up on my Character sheet on here.
Thanks Gonzo
Both statements are correct. To cast a spell as ritual the following remarks must be verified:
!) You must have the Ritual feature. Cleric, for example, has it, sorcerer does not. There is also the feat "Ritual Caster" for those classes that don't automatically have the ritual feature.
2) The spell must have the "Ritual" tag in the spell description.
3) The caster must have the spell prepared, or if you do not need to prepare spells, the spell just needs to be known. Wizards are kind of exception, since they have the spellbook, they only need the spell to be in the spellbook.
Thanks for the reply filcat.
So then as a Cleric I can only cast a Ritual Spell if it has been prepared if I am reading this right.
Thanks Gonzo
You are welcome.
Yes Clerics and Druids need a spell to be prepared for ritual casting.
Follow up question for one specific Ritual.
As a cleric with magic initiate - wizard, would find familiar take an hour to cast when not casting it as a ritual?
https://www.dndbeyond.com/spells/find-familiar
*edit* added spell link
It does in the spell search list and PHB (page 240)
Ofcourse! but will it still take an hour to cast?
Can my Arcane trickster rogue cast identify as a ritual? It would seem to be the case, according to the PHB, but my DM says I need the ritual caster feat.
Nick: Since you are accessing that spell via Magic Initiate, you get to cast it for free once a day. When casting it in this manner, it only takes the allotted casting time. You wouldn't be able to cast it as a ritual since it's not a cleric spell and you're not a wizard.
He's right, the Rogues do not have the Ritual Casting feature, and so you'd need the feat (which has its own limitations, so read up on it before you take it).
From the PHB, Page 203: "To cast a spell as a ritual, a spellcaster must have a feature that grants the ability to do so."
a lil late to the party!
Been playing over a year now and the cleric is long dead xD
Died while running over the ceiling heroically with spider climb while being peppered by skeleton archers popping up from the floor!
so, if im understanding this right. a wizard doesn't need the ritual spell prepared to cast it as a ritual?
A wizard needs to have the ritual spell either prepared or they need a copy in their spell book. In either of these cases, the wizard can cast the spell as a ritual if it has the ritual tag.
thanks so much!