I'm having trouble finding answers about casting spells from a scroll.
First, if the spell being cast uses a character's spellcasting ability modifier, does this also apply when casting from a scroll? Is the modifier instead a fixed or pre-calculated value unrelated to the character using it (similar to the spell DC for a scroll)?
Second, if a character using a scroll has a feature that modifies the result of a spell when cast directly, does that also apply when the character casts the same spell from a scroll?
As an example that covers both questions, if a Life domain cleric casts a Cure Wounds spell from a scroll, is the amount healed equal to 1d8 + spellcasting ability modifier + Disciple of Life bonus? How should this work?
With regards to your first question, whoever is casting the spell from the scroll will use their spellcasting modifier (DMG: Activating an Item). If they have more than one spellcasting ability they get to choose which to use. Personally, I would also limit that to be only from applicable classes, e.g. a Cleric (Life)/Sorcerer (Draconic) multiclass character should only be able to use Wisdom with a Scroll of Cure Wounds as only the Cleric class has access to the spell, while a Cleric (Life)/Sorcerer (Divine Soul) multiclass could choose between Wis and Cha.
As to your second question, I don't think the rules specify one way or the other. I also couldn't find any clarification in Sage Advice. You could tweet Jeremy Crawford if it really matters to you. Personal opinion: look to the specific wording of the ability. If the ability requires you to cast a spell using a spell slot then it won't work with a spell cast from a scroll (or any other magic item). However, if it just requires you to cast a spell then the ability should work normally. As always, check with your DM for their interpretation.
For your specific example I would say that the amount healed is 1d8 + the Cleric's Wis modifier + 3 (Disciple of Life bonus). Note that a spell cast from a scroll is "cast at the lowest possible spell and caster level", which would be 1st level for Cure Wounds.
Thanks, you confirmed much of what I suspected and did so with fantastic clarity. I was more uncertain about things like the Disciple of Life bonus, as they magnify the value of scrolls and other items that might benefit. But that works both ways -- enemy NPCs see a value increase too.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I'm having trouble finding answers about casting spells from a scroll.
First, if the spell being cast uses a character's spellcasting ability modifier, does this also apply when casting from a scroll? Is the modifier instead a fixed or pre-calculated value unrelated to the character using it (similar to the spell DC for a scroll)?
Second, if a character using a scroll has a feature that modifies the result of a spell when cast directly, does that also apply when the character casts the same spell from a scroll?
As an example that covers both questions, if a Life domain cleric casts a Cure Wounds spell from a scroll, is the amount healed equal to 1d8 + spellcasting ability modifier + Disciple of Life bonus? How should this work?
With regards to your first question, whoever is casting the spell from the scroll will use their spellcasting modifier (DMG: Activating an Item). If they have more than one spellcasting ability they get to choose which to use. Personally, I would also limit that to be only from applicable classes, e.g. a Cleric (Life)/Sorcerer (Draconic) multiclass character should only be able to use Wisdom with a Scroll of Cure Wounds as only the Cleric class has access to the spell, while a Cleric (Life)/Sorcerer (Divine Soul) multiclass could choose between Wis and Cha.
As to your second question, I don't think the rules specify one way or the other. I also couldn't find any clarification in Sage Advice. You could tweet Jeremy Crawford if it really matters to you. Personal opinion: look to the specific wording of the ability. If the ability requires you to cast a spell using a spell slot then it won't work with a spell cast from a scroll (or any other magic item). However, if it just requires you to cast a spell then the ability should work normally. As always, check with your DM for their interpretation.
For your specific example I would say that the amount healed is 1d8 + the Cleric's Wis modifier + 3 (Disciple of Life bonus). Note that a spell cast from a scroll is "cast at the lowest possible spell and caster level", which would be 1st level for Cure Wounds.
Thanks, you confirmed much of what I suspected and did so with fantastic clarity. I was more uncertain about things like the Disciple of Life bonus, as they magnify the value of scrolls and other items that might benefit. But that works both ways -- enemy NPCs see a value increase too.